L.I.R.R. TELEGRAPHIC CALL LETTERS,

NUMBERS AND NAMES

FOR STATIONS, BLOCK STATIONS, BLOCK LIMIT STATIONS,

TRAIN ORDER OFFICES, SIGNAL STATIONS,

MANUAL & REMOTE CONTROL (R.C.) INTERLOCKINGS

(Rev. 05/06/21)

 

(Compiled and researched by Dave Keller from employee timetables, Robert M.

Emery’s hand-drawn maps and the knowledge, experience and kind assistance of Art Huneke, Jeff Erlitz and other helpful, knowledgeable railfans)

 

Note:  Numbered cabins and towers also used call letters concurrently due to telegraphic transmission.  In 1907, the tower numbers were dropped per various General Orders and renamed to match their previously identifying calls. (per

past interview between Art Huneke and an old, retired LIRR tower operator.)

 

Note:  It is very possible that the 1880 towers did not have numbers.  Numbers

may have first been used when the block system was installed on the Montauk branch west of Jamaica in 1892.  (Art Huneke Data)

 

Note:  While the majority of the towers / cabins / stations had call letters where

both letters reflected a portion of the location name, not all did (i.e. "Z" cabin at

East New York) and some only a single letter (i.e. "SQ" tower at Sheepshead Bay Junction) (Art Huneke data)

 

Note:  Starting in April, 1937, block stations in automatic block signal territory changed from letter calls, to name calls (i.e. "IS" tower became "HOLLIS" tower).  Block stations in manual block signal territory retained their letter calls.  (There were some exceptions)

 

Interlocking Plant Manufacturers:

S&F             = Saxby & Farmer

US&S Co.    = Union Switch & Signal Co.

G. R. S. Co. = General Railway Signal Co.

 

 

BLOCK STATION No. 1                      DUTCH KILLS, L. I. CITY (WITH BLOCK

                                                              SYSTEM PLACED IN SVC. BETWEEN

                                                              L. I. CITY AND WINFIELD, PER G. O.

                                                              No. 47 EFF: 07/03/1879 (Art Huneke

                                                              archive)

 

BLOCK STATION No. 2                      TOWER WEST OF WOODSIDE STATION

                                                              (WITH BLOCK SYSTEM PLACED IN

                                                              SVC. BETWEEN L. I. CITY AND WIN-

                                                              FIELD, PER G. O. No. 47 EFF:

                                                              07/03/1879 (Art Huneke archive)

 

BLOCK STATION No. 3                      TOWER BETWEEN WOODSIDE AND

                                                              WINFIELD (WITH BLOCK SYSTEM

                                                              PLACED IN SVC. BETWEEN L. I. CITY

                                                              AND WINFIELD, PER G. O. No. 47 EFF:

                                                              07/03/1879 (Art Huneke archive)

 

BLOCK STATION No. 4                      WINFIELD DEPOT (WITH BLOCK SYSTEM

                                                              PLACED IN SVC. BETWEEN L. I. CITY

                                                              AND WINFIELD, PER G. O. No. 47 EFF:

                                                              07/03/1879 (Art Huneke archive)

 

CABIN 1                                            BELMONT PARK (JOB ADVERTISED:

                                                              5/16/1919. MAY HAVE BEEN PLACED IN

                                                              SERVICE SOME YEARS EARLIER)

 

CABIN 5                                            TEMPORARY CABIN EAST OF JAMAICA

                                                              AT THE SITE OF THE CONSTRUCTION

                                                              OF THE ATLANTIC BRANCH UNDER-

                                                              JUMP ON WEST SIDE OF GAS TANKS

                                                              (IN SVC: BY MARCH, 1913 WITH JAM-

                                                              AICA GRADE ELIMINATION PROJECT. 

                                                              CONTROLLED THE CROSSING AT

                                                              GRADE OF THE NEW WESTBOUND

                                                              ATLANTIC DIVISION TRACK AND THE

                                                              EASTBOUND TEMPORARY TRACKS. 

                                                              OUT OF SVC:  1913 AFTER COMPLE-

                                                              TION OF PROJECT.)

 

CABIN 7                                            JAMAICA –WEST OF WASHINGTON ST. 

                                                              N. SIDE OF TRACKS.  (IN SVC: 1913

                                                              WITH JAMAICA GRADE ELIMINATION. 

                                                              THREE 2-LEVER MACHINES.  JOBS

                                                              AT THIS BLOCK OFFICE WERE ABOL-

                                                              ISHED EFF. 12/01/1929.  PER PHOTO-

                                                              GRAPHIC EVIDENCE TAKEN IN 1925,

                                                              THE BLOCK STATION THAT WAS TAK-

                                                              EN OUT OF SVC:  12/8/1929 PER G.O.

                                                              111-15 ACCOUNT JAMAICA EAST IM-

                                                              PROVEMENT PROJECT AND OPENING

                                                              OF CABINS “J1,” “J2,” AND “J3” WAS

                                                              A TOTALLY DIFFERENT DESIGN SO

                                                              THE 1913 CABIN WAS REPLACED

                                                              SOMETIME PRIOR TO 1925. CABIN

                                                              WAS TAKEN OUT OF SERVICE DUE

                                                              TO INSTALLATION OF NEW TRACK

                                                              #6 ON THE N. SIDE OF THE MAIN,

                                                              PLACED IN SVC. ON 11/26/1929

                                                              PER G.O. #111-11.) 

 

CABIN 10                                          TEMPORARY CABIN WEST OF HILLSIDE

                                                              STATION AT SUBSTATION #4. (IN SVC:

                                                              1913 DURING JAMAICA GRADE ELIM-

                                                              INATION TO CONTROL CROSSOVER OF

                                                              MONTAUK BRANCH TRACK #1 AND

                                                              MAIN LINE TRACK #2 AND RELATED

                                                              HOME SIGNALS.  2 LEVER MECHANI-

                                                              CAL MACHINE (Per Henry Wilhelm's

                                                               interlocking map).  OUT OF SVC: NOV.

                                                              1922 AND CONTROL PASSED TO “RJ”

                                                              TOWER FURTHER EAST) (Art Huneke

                                                              data)

 

CABIN #11½                                     JAMAICA PLANK ROAD (INTERSECTION                                                                       OF JAMAICA AVE. TROLLEY CROSS-

                                                              ING AND LEFFERTS AVE., WHICH

                                                              CRISS-CROSSED OVER THE TRACKS

                                                              ON THE E. SIDE OF RICHMOND HILL

                                                              STATION.  CABIN BUILT: 1900 ON S.

                                                              SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF JAMAICA

                                                              AVE. FOUR-LEVER MACHINE TO OPER-

                                                              ATE TROLLEY DERAILS.  NOT A SIGNAL

                                                              STATION;  NO TELEGRAPH, NO TELE-

                                                              PHONE (Per Art Huneke).  PRE-1907

     PHOTO SHOWS 3 LEVERS POSITIONED

     OUTSIDE THE CABIN.  RENAMED “L”

     CABIN IN 1907.  REBUILT:  1909.  OUT

     OF SVC: 1924 WITH JAMAICA AVE.

     GRADE ELIMINATION PROJECT)

 

CABIN #?                                          CHESTNUT ST. JCT., (BRT & LIRR) EAST

     NEW YORK, ON ATLANTIC BRANCH. (RE-

     PLACED IN 1905 BY TOWER #65 BUILT

     ON SIGNAL BRIDGE WITH ELECTRIFICA-

     TION AND ADDITION OF 2 LOCAL

     TRACKS.)

 

BLOCK STATION #1                          DUTCH KILLS STREET – L. I. CITY (MAIN

(POSSIBLY CABIN)                                 LINE) IN SVC: 7/3/1879 PER G.O. #47,

                                                              EFF. 7/2/1879. (Per Art Huneke)

                                                             

TOWER #1: 2                                    MONTAUK JUNCTION, L. I. CITY (NORTH

                                                              OF MAIN TRACKS AND EAST OF EAST

                                                              AVE.  48 LEVER NATIONAL/S&F

                                                              MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:

                                                              6/1884.  OUT OF SVC:  11/06/1904 [?]).

 

TOWER #2: 1                                    WEST OF WOODSIDE STATION (IN SVC:

                                                              7/3/1879 PER G.O. #47, EFF. 7/2/1879)

                                                              (Per Art Huneke)

 

TOWER #2: 2                                    DUTCH KILLS CREEK (S. SIDE OF MON-

                                                              TAUK BRANCH TRACKS AND W. OF THE

                                                              CREEK.  ?  LEVER SAXBY & FARMER

                                                              MECHANICAL MACH INE IN SVC: 1892. 

                                                              MOVED TO N. SIDE OF TRACKS WITH

                                                              ENLARGEMENT OF NORTH YARD AND

                                                              INSTALLATION OF CONNECTION TO

                                                              DOCK YARD:  1903-04.  29 LEVER

                                                              UNION S & S MODEL 14 ELECTRIC

                                                              MACHINE IN SVC: 10/12/1905.  RE-

                                                              NAMED “DB” IN 1907. OUT OF SVC:

                                                              10/1915 [per Bob Emery’s maps] GONE

                                                              FROM ETT OF 5/1916.)

 

TOWER #3: 1                                    BETWEEN WOODSIDE AND WINFIELD

                                                              (IN SVC: 7/3/1879 PER G.O. #47, EFF.

                                                              7/2/1879) (Per Art Huneke)

 

TOWER #3: 2                                    BLISSVILLE, L. I. CITY (NORTH SIDE OF

                                                              TRACKS AND WEST SIDE OF GREEN-

                                                              POINT AVE. 16 LEVER JOHNSON

                                                              STYLE "A"  MECHANICAL MACHINE. 

                                                              IN SVC: 06/25/1894.   RENAMED “BX”:

                                                              11/04/1907.) 

 

BLOCK STATION #4                          INSIDE WINFIELD DEPOT (IN SVC:

(TOWER 4: 1)                                         7/3/1879 PER G.O. #47, EFF.

                                                              7/2/1879) (Per Art Huneke)

 

TOWER #4:                                       PENNY BRIDGE (c. 1903 ON S. SIDE OF

                                                              TRACKS AND E. OF LAUREL HILL BLVD.

                                                              CROSSING. RENAMED “PY” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #5: 1                                    HABERMAN (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E.

                                                              OF 46TH ST./CLIFTON AVE. ADJACENT

                                                              TO LAUREL HILL STATION.  OUT OF SVC:

                                                               ? .  RELOCATED FURTHER EAST.)

 

TOWER #5: 2                                    HABERMAN (S. SIDE OF TRACKS, E. OF

                                                              FORMER LOCATION AND E. OF HABER-

                                                              MAN STATION. RENAMED “LH” c. 1907.)

 

TOWER #6                                        FLUSHING AVE., MASPETH  (MT.OLIVET)

   (N. SIDE OF MONTAUK BRANCH TRACKS

   AND E. OF FLUSHING AVE. JOHNSON  8

   LEVER STYLE A MECHANICAL MACH-

   INE. IN SERVICE: 8/1/1895, OR 10/1895

   OR 11/20/1895 (?) RENAMED “MV”: 1907.

   RENAMED “OLIVET”: 4/22/37)

 

TOWER #6½                                     METROPOLITAN AVE. – FRESH POND

                                                              (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF MET-

                                                              ROPOLITAN AVE. AT THE FRESH POND

                                                              STATION.   IN SVC:  6/24/1896 OR

                                                              10/14/1896 (?).  PROTECTED THE

                                                              BRT TROLLEY CROSSING.  16 LEVER

                                                              MECHANICAL MACHINE.  RENAMED

                                                              “MX” IN 1907.  SEE: "MX" TOWER)

 

TOWER #7                                        BUSHWICK JCT. - FRESH POND (N. SIDE

                                                              OF TRACKS AND E. OF STATION.  RE-

                                                              NAMED “BJ” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #8                                        FRESH POND JCT. (S. SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                              AND E. OF JUNCTION.  16 LEVER US&S

                                                              MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SERVICE:

                                                              1883 – 1918, RENAMED “DF” IN 1907.

                                                              INCREASED TO 20 LEVER JOHNSON

                                                              STYLE "A" MACHINE BY 1912.)

 

TOWER #9                                        GLENDALE (c. 1903: S. SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                              AND E. OF COOPER AVE. RENAMED

                                                              “GW”: 1907 DUE TO PROXIMITY OF

                                                              GLENDALE WELLS. SEE: "GW" TOWER)

 

TOWER #10                                      GLENDALE JUNCTION – JUNCTION OF

                                                              MONTAUK AND ROCKAWAY BEACH

                                                              BRANCHES (LOCATED ON MONTAUK

                                                              BRANCH: S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND

                                                              E. OF JUNCTION. 12 LEVER S&F

                                                              MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:

                                                              8/26/1880. RENAMED “JD” IN 1907.

                                                              OUT OF SVC: 1910)

 

TOWER #11                                      W. RICHMOND HILL (FOREST PARK) ON

                                                              MONTAUK BRANCH (S. SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                              AND W. OF FOREST PARK ROAD.  IN

                                                              SERVICE: 1892.  RENAMED “RM” IN 1907)

 

TOWER #12                                      RICHMOND HILL ON MONTAUK BRANCH

                                                              (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF RIDGE-

                                                              WOOD AVE. AND MORRIS PARK SHOPS

                                                              STATION.  IN SVC. ?. RENAMED “RC” IN

                                                              1907)

 

TOWER #14                                      JAMAICA CROSS SWITCHES (DUNTON).

                                                              JCT OF MAIN LINE AND ATLANTIC DIV.

                                                              (ON ATLANTIC BRANCH AT WEST END

                                                              OF JAMAICA YARD (S. SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                              AND E. OF OLD DUNTON STA. AT VAN

                                                              WYCK AVENUE. 48 LEVER S&F MECH-                                                                   ANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: BY 1888. 

                                                              RENAMED AND LISTED AS “AC” IN

                                                              1903 CR4.)

 

TOWER #15                                      “JAMAICA AIR TOWER” ON ATLANTIC BR.

                                                              AT EAST END OF JAMAICA YARD (S.

                                                              SIDE OF TRACKS, WEST OF DEPOT

                                                              AND W. OF ROCKAWAY ROAD.  IN SVC:

                                                              1899. RENAMED “JT” IN 1907.  1ST

                                                               COMPLETELY PNEUMATIC 47 LEVER  

                                                              INTERLOCKING ON THE LIRR)

 

TOWER #17                                      SOUTH STREET, JAMAICA (RENAMED “SJ”:

                                                              1907.)

 

TOWER #18 (?)                                  NEW YORK AVENUE, CEDAR MANOR.  IN

                                                             SVC:   ?  TO PROTECT AGAINST TROLLEY

                                                             CROSSING. RENAMED:  ?  OUT OF SVC: 

                                                              ? .

 

TOWER #19                                      EAST OF SPRINGFIELD JCT. ON OLD

                                                             SOUTHERN ROAD (S. SIDE OF TRACKS

   AND E. OF SPRINGFIELD JCT. IN SVC:

   1880. OUT OF SVC: 5/11/1906.)

 

TOWER #20                                      VALLEY STREAM (24 LEVER MECHANIC-

                                                              AL MACHINE IN SVC:  1886.  OUT OF

                                                              SVC:  4/24/1907 WHEN REPLACED

                                                              BY “VA” TOWER :1)

 

TOWER #21                                      PEARSALL'S JCT., LYNBROOK- S. SIDE

                                                              OF TRACKS AND E. OF ATLANTIC AVE.

                                                              AT STATION PLATFORM. JCT. OF MON-

                                                              TAUK AND LONG BEACH BRANCHES. 

                                                              (14 LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE

                                                              IN SVC: BY 1884.  RENAMED “PT” IN

                                                              1907)

 

TOWER #30                                      NORTH SHORE JCT. (L. I. CROSSOVERS)

                                                              BETWEEN 5TH AND 6TH STREETS, L. I.

                                                              CITY. (16 LEVER SAXBY & FARMER

                                                              MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 7/1884. 

                                                              RENAMED “YD” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #31                                      QUEEN STREET - L. I. CITY. (RENAMED

                                                              “QS” IN 1907)

 

TOWER #32                                      SKILLMAN AVENUE, L. I. CITY (RE-

                                                              NAMED “SX” IN 1907)

 

TOWER #33                                      WEST WOODSIDE (RENAMED “DW” IN

                                                              1907)

 

TOWER #34                                       WOODSIDE JUNCTION (.2 MILES WEST

                                                             OF WOODSIDE. BECAME "WJ" (1ST)

                                                             (SEE: "WJ" TOWER) 

 

TOWER #35                                      WINFIELD JUNCTION - SOUTHEAST OF

                                                              INTERSECTION OF THOMPSON AND

                                                              GREENPOINT AVENUES AND S. SIDE

                                                              OF TRACKS – L. I. CITY (24 LEVER

                                                              S& F MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 

                                                              1884 TO 03/01/1898.  GRS MODEL 2

                                                              40 LEVER INTERLOCKING MACHINE

                                                              IN SVC: 03/01/1898.  RE-NAMED “WJ”

                                                              [2ND] IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #36: 1                                  AT W. END OF WINFIELD STATION AT

                                                              TODAY'S 69TH ST. & 48TH AVE..  IN

                                                              SVC:  1883.  RECEIVED THE NUMBER

                                                              "36" AFTER MANUAL BLOCK SYSTEM

                                                              WAS PLACED IN SERVICE BETWEEN

                                                              JAMAICA & WINFIELD JCT. (Art Hun-

                                                              eke & Bill Slade data) OUT OF SVC.

                                                              BY 1907.

 

TOWER #36: 2                                  “JAMAICA BLOCK” (DUNTON) ON MAIN

                                                              LINE BETWEEN MONROE AND WALNUT

                                                              STREETS. (JUNCTION OF “BERLIN SID-

                                                              ING” WITH MAIN LINE. W. SIDE OF

                                                              JUNCTION. ORIGINALLY TOWER #40:1.

                                                              RENUMBERED TO #36 IN 1903. RE-

                                                              NAMED “JA” IN 1907)

 

TOWER #37                                      45' EAST OF CALDWELL AVE. (LATER 57TH

                                                              AVE.), E. OF THE FORMER GRAND ST.

                                                              STATION AND W. OF THE FORMER

                                                              REGO PARK STATION. IN SVC: 1892

                                                              AFTER MANUAL BLOCK SYSTEM WAS

                                                              PLACED IN SERVICE BETWEEN JAM-

                                                              AICA & WINFIELD JCT. (Bill Slade data)

                                                              PROBABLY OUT OF SERVICE BY 1907.

 

TOWER #38                                      .33 MILES WEST OF WHITE POT ROAD

                                                              (LATER YELLOWSTONE BLVD.) IN LAT-

                                                              TER-DAY REGO PARK.  IN SVC: 1892

                                                              AFTER MANUAL BLOCK SYSTEM WAS

                                                              PLACED IN SERVICE BETWEEN JAMAI-

                                                              CA & WINFIELD JCT. (Bill Slade data)

                                                              PROBABLY OUT OF SERVICE BY 1907.

 

TOWER #39                                      .2 MILES WEST OF MAPLE GROVE STA-

                                                              TION.  IN SVC: 1892 AFTER MANUAL

                                                              BLOCK SYSTEM PLACED IN SERVICE

                                                              BETWEEN JAMAICA & WINFIELD JCT.

                                                              (Bill Slade data) PROBABLY OUT OF

                                                              SERVICE BY 1907.

 

TOWER #40: 1                                  SEE “TOWER #36: 1” ABOVE

 

TOWER #40: 2                                  “OLD” JAMAICA  (N. SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                              AT W. END OF STATION PLATFORM, 

                                                              EAST SIDE OF DIVISION ST. ORIGIN-

                                                              ALLY A GATE TOWER. SIGNAL LEVER

                                                              ADDED AND TOWER NUMBERED

                                                              #40:2 IN 1903 WHEN TOWER NUMBER

                                                              WAS TRANSFERRED FROM NEWLY-

                                                              NUMBERED #36: 1. RENAMED “JS” IN

                                                              1907. REVERTED TO GATE TOWER BY

                                                              DECEMBER, 1908 AND CALL LETTERS

                                                              RE MOVED.)

 

TOWER #41: 1                                  NEW YORK AVENUE – JAMAICA (SOUTH

   SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF NEW

   YORK AVENUE CROSSING. IN SVC: 1890

   WITH INSTALLATION OF INTERLOCK-

   ING SYSTEM. OUT OF SVC:  c. 1904 )

 

TOWER #41: 2                                  “OLD” JAMAICA / “EAST END OF JA-

                                                             MAICA” (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND

                                                             EAST SIDE OF JAMAICA STATION.  ALL

                                                             ELECTRIC. IN SVC:  JUNE 29, 1906

                                                             PER G.O. 53.  RENAMED “JE” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #42                                      ROCKAWAY JCT. – HILLSIDE – JCT. OF

   MAIN LINE AND MONTAUK BR. (NORTH

   SIDE OF MAIN LINE TRACKS AT HILL-

   SIDE STATION AND EAST OF JUNCTION,   

   REPLACING “RJ” TOWER: 1.  12 LEVER

   MECHANICAL MACHINE. IN SVC:

   07/31/ 1880 UNTIL 1895 REPLACED

   WITH US&S 23 LEVER STYLE “F” ALL-

   ELECTRIC MACHINE IN SVC: 1906. 

   TOWER RENAMED "RJ": 1907.)

 

TOWER #43 : 1                                  E. HINSDALE – JCT.OF EX-CRR OF L.I.

   CREEDMOOR AND CENTRAL BRANCHES

   WITH L.I.R.R. MAIN LINE (OPENED

   OCT/1887 NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND

   EAST OF TULIP AVE., ABOVE 1878 EX-

   STEWART JUNCTION. DEPOT. 24 LEVER

   MECHANICAL MACHINE.  STATION RE-

   NAMED FLORAL PARK IN 1890. SHARED

   CALLS OF “JN” WITH 1ST FLOOR DEPOT. 

   TOWER RE-NUMBERED #47 WITH IN-

   STALLATION OF BLOCK SYSTEM

   BETWEEN ROCKAWAY JCT. AND FLORAL

   PARK: 1894. #43 REASSIGNED TO HOL-

   LIS UPON OPENING.)

 

TOWER #43: 2                                  HOLLIS (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF

   FARMER’S AVE. AND W. OF HOLLIS

   DEPOT.  IN SVC: 1894 WITH INSTALLA-

   TION OF BLOCK SYSTEM. OUT OF SVC: 

   1905.  REPLACED WITH TOWER EAST

   OF HOLLIS DEPOT.)

 

TOWER #43: 3 (?)                              HOLLIS (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF

                                                             HOLLIS DEPOT.  JOHNSON STYLE "A"

                                                             32 LEVER MACHINE IN SVC:  1905. 

                                                             RENAMED “IS” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #44: 1                                  HEMPSTEAD CROSSING - EAST OF

                                                             GARDEN CITY WHERE LIRR TRACKS

                                                             CROSSED THOSE OF THE CENTRAL

                                                             RAILROAD OF L.I.  RENUMBERED TO

                                                             TOWER #105 WHEN BLOCK SYSTEM

                                                             EXTENDED FURTHER EAST ON MAIN

                                                             LINE AND MORE TOWERS PLACED IN

                                                             SERVICE:  1894.  NEVER IN THE MAIN

   LINE BLOCK SYSTEM.  #44 REAS-

   SIGNED TO BRUSHVILLE.

 

TOWER #44 : 2                                  INTERSTATE PARK (BRUSHVILLE) ON MAIN

   LINE (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AT E. END OF

   STATION PLATFORM AND W. SIDE OF

   BENNETT [BAYLIS] AVE.  IN SERVICE:

   1894 WITH INSTALLATION OF BLOCK    

   SYSTEM.  RENAMED “VI”.  LAST LISTED

   IN SVC: 1897.  ALSO KNOWN AS

   “BRUSHVILLE TOWER.” ???)

 

TOWER #44½                                   HEMPSTEAD TURNPIKE AND TROLLEY

                                                            CROSSING OF MAIN LINE WEST OF

                                                             QUEENS (QUEENS VILLAGE).  (N. SIDE

   OF TRACKS AND E. OF CROSSING. 

   STEVENS 8 LEVER MECHANICAL MA-

   CHINE IN SVC: 7/1905. RENAMED “HQ”:

   1907.) 

 

TOWER #45 : 1                                  MINEOLA (BRICK TOWER IN SVC: 1890

                                                              SOUTH SIDE OF MAIN LINE TRACKS AT

                                                              EAST END OF WOODEN STATION PLAT-

                                                              FORM, EAST OF MINEOLA BLVD. TO

                                                              CONTROL JCT. OF MINEOLA-HEMP-

    STEAD  AND OYSTER BAY BRANCHES

    WITH MAIN LINE. SAXBY & FARMER

    52 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.

    TOWER RENUMBERED #48 WHEN

    BLOCK SYSTEM INSTALLED FURTHER

    EAST AND MORE TOWERS PLACED IN

    SERVICE:  1894.  #45 REASSIGNED TO

    QUEENS [SEE BELOW] UPON OPENING. 

    RENAMED “MT”: 1907.)

 

TOWER #45:  2                                 QUEENS (QUEENS VILLAGE)  (N. SIDE

   OF TRACKS AND EAST OF CREED AVE.

   [SPRINGFIELD BLVD.] AND STATION. IN

   SVC: 1894.  JOHNSON 16 LEVER MECH-

   ANICAL MACHINE.  RENAMED “QU” 1907.

   OUT OF SVC: 1923.  REPLACED BY BRICK

   TOWER IN 1924 WITH GRADE CROSSING

   ELIMINATION.)

 

TOWER #46: 1                                  BETHPAGE JCT. – JCT. OF CENTRAL R.R.

                                                             OF L.I. AND L.I.R.R.(OPENED AUG/1885,

                                                             EAST SIDE OF TRACKS AND NORTH OF

                                                             CENTRAL R.R. SPUR TO BETHPAGE

   BRICK WORKS CROSSING L.I.R.R.

   TRACKS. RENUMBERED TO TOWER #49:

   1894. #46 REASSIGNED TO WEST FLORAL

   PARK UPON OPENING. GONE BY 1897-98)

 

TOWER #46: 2                                  WEST FLORAL PARK (S. SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                             AT W. SIDE OF REMSEN LANE, 1,168’ E.

                                                             OF BELLEROSE STATION AND 1,437' W.

                                                             OF CARNATION AVE. [FLORAL PARK].

                                                             IN SERVICE: 1894 WITH INSTALLATION

                                                             OF BLOCK SYSTEM.  INTERLOCKING

                                                             REBUILT 10/1/1905 PROBABLY ADDING

                                                             SWITCHES FOR NEW 3RD RUNNING

                                                             FREIGHT] TRACK.  RENAMED “WA”

                                                             [WEST FLORAL PARK] IN 1907.  OUT OF

                                                             SVC. AND REPLACED BY “BE” CABIN

                                                             WHICH APPEARS ON ETT #49 EFF.

                                                             9/1908.) (Data per Art Huneke)

 

TOWER #47                                       FLORAL PARK (EX-STEWART JUNCTION.

                                                             PREVIOUSLY TOWER #43: 1. RENUM-

   BERED IN 1894 WITH INSTALLATION OF

   BLOCK SYSTEM FROM THE WEST AND

   MORE TOWERS PLACED IN SERVICE.

   ORIGINALLY SHARED CALLS OF “JN”

   WITH 1ST FLOOR DEPOT.  RENAMED

   “FP”: 1907.  THESE CALLS ARE INDICA-             TED IN THE LIRR JOB POSTINGS LIST

   OF 9/20/1907. TOWER RAZED WITH

   OLD STATION BLDG. WHEN NEW, RE-

   LOCATED STATION [JULY, 1909] AND

   NEW, FREE-STANDING “FK” TOWER:1

   [1909] PLACED IN SVC.)

 

TOWER #48                                      MINEOLA (BRICK TOWER IN SVC: 1890 AS

                                                              TOWER #45:1. SOUTH SIDE OF MAIN

                                                              LINE TRACKS AT  EAST END OF WOOD-

                                                              EN STATION PLATFORM, EAST OF MIN-

                                                              EOLA BLVD. TO CONTROL JCT. OF MIN-

                                                              EOLA-HEMPSTEAD  AND OYSTER BAY

                                                              BRANCHES WITH MAIN LINE. SAXBY &

                                                              FARMER 52 LEVER MECHANICAL MA-

                                                              CHINE. TOWER RENUMBERED #48

                                                              WHEN BLOCK SYSTEM INSTALLED “RJ”

                                                              TO FLORAL PARK AND MORE TOWERS

                                                              PLACED IN SERVICE:  1894.  #45 RE-

                                                              ASSIGNED TO QUEENS UPON OPENING. 

                                                              RENAMED “MT”: 1907.)

 

TOWER #49                                      BETHPAGE JCT. – JCT. OF CENTRAL R.R.

                                                            OF L.I. AND L.I.R.R.(ORIGINALLY TOWER

                                                             #46 OPENED:  AUG/1885 EAST SIDE OF

                                                             TRACKS AND NORTH OF CENTRAL R.R.

                                                             SPUR TO BETHPAGE BRICK WORKS

                                                             CROSSING L.I.R.R. TRACKS. RENUM-

                                                             BERED TOWER #49: 1894.  GONE BY

   1897-98)

 

TOWER #50                                      EAST END OF WINFIELD STATION PLAT-

                                                             FORM.  IN SVC: c. 1880s. 

 

TOWER #51                                      ELMHURST (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E.

                                                             OF BROADWAY CROSSING. BUILT: ?

                                                             OUT OF SERVICE: 1902-03)

 

TOWER #52                                      CORONA (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF

                                                             ALBURTIS AVE. OUT OF SERVICE: 1902-

                                                             1903)

 

TOWER #53                                      WHITESTONE JUNCTION (1878 BOOK OF

                                                             RULES AND 1903 CR4) JCT. OF PORT

                                                             WASHINGTON AND WHITESTONE

                                                             BRANCHES.  NORTH SIDE OF WHITE-

                                                             STONE BRANCH AND WEST OF THE 

                                                             JUNCTION.  RENAMED “JC” IN 1907.

 

TOWER #63                                      MANHATTAN CROSSING (EAST NEW YORK)

ON ATLANTIC BRANCH (BUILT ON SIGNAL

BRIDGE WEST OF BAY RIDGE BRANCH

CROSSING. 24 LEVER US&S MECHANIC-

AL MACHINE IN SVC:  MAY/1883.  RE-

NAMED “NO” TOWER IN 1907)

 

TOWER #64                                      NORWOOD AVENUE (EAST NEW YORK) ON

                                                             ATLANTIC BRANCH.  (LAST LISTED IN

   ETT OF SEPTEMBER, 1905.  GONE BY

   NOVEMBER, 1905.)

 

TOWER #65                                      CHESTNUT ST. JCT., (AUTUMN AVE.)

                                                             EAST NEW YORK, ON ATLANTIC

                                                             BRANCH. (BUILT ON SIGNAL BRIDGE. 

                                                             11-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-

                                                             MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:

   8/3/1906. REPLACED EARLIER CABIN AT

   GRADE. CONTROLLED CONNECTION

   BETWEEN L.I.R.R. AND B.R.T. SYSTEMS

   DURING PERIOD OF JOINT OPERATION.

   RENAMED “CN” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #66                                      WOODHAVEN JCT (1903 CR4). – JCT. OF

   ATLANTIC AND ROCKAWAY BEACH

   BRANCHES. (ON ATLANTIC BRANCH,

   SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, WEST OF STA-

   TION AND EAST OF JCT. FORMERLY

   TOWER #66. 12 LEVER SAXBY & FARM-

   ER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: BY

   1884. RENAMED “WT” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #67                                      MAURE AVE., MORRIS PARK ON ATLANTIC

                                                             BRANCH (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF

                                                             MAURE AVE. RENAMED “MP” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #70                                      MYRTLE AVE. TROLLEY CROSSING ON BAY

   RIDGE/MANHATTAN BEACH BRANCH (12

   LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  IN SVC:

   6/1892 ON S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W.

   OF FRESH POND ROAD AND MYRTLE

   AVE. RENAMED “MY”:  1907.  OUT OF

   SVC: 1914 ACCOUNT GRADE ELIMIN-

   ATION.)

 

TOWER #71                                      CYPRESS AVE., RIDGEWOOD TROLLEY

                                                             CROSSING ON BAY RIDGE/MANHATTAN

                                                             BEACH BRANCH (8 LEVER MECHANICAL

                                                             MACHINE.  IN SVC: 3/14/1895 OR

                                                             8/15/1895 (?) ON S. SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                             AND E. OF CYPRESS AVE.  RENAMED

                                                             “CY” IN 1907.  OUT OF SVC:  1914 AC-

                                                             COUNT GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.)

 

TOWER #72                                      EAST NEW YORK ON MANHATTAN BEACH

   BRANCH (W. OF TRACKS AND S. OF LIB-

   ERTY AVE. 12 LEVER MECHANICAL

   MACHIN IN SVC:  12/12/1895. RENAMED

   “LM” IN 1907. CLOSED c. 1914 WHEN

   EAST NEW YORK TUNNEL WAS BUILT.)

 

TOWER #73                                      ROCKAWAY AVE., NEW LOTS- ON MANHAT-

                                                             TAN BEACH BRANCH (8 LEVER MECHAN-

                                                             ICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 3/14/1896.  RE-

                                                             NAMED “AY” IN 1907.  OUT OF SVC:    ? )

 

TOWER #74                                      FLATBUSH AVE. ON MANHATTAN BEACH

                                                             BRANCH (CLOSED: 1907)

 

TOWER #74½                                   OCEAN AVENUE TROLLEY CROSSING –

                                                             OCEAN AVE.,BKLYN. ON BAY RIDGE

                                                             BRANCH.  (WOODEN TOWER BUILT

                                                             SOUTH OF TRACKS JUST BEYOND

                                                             EAST END OF MANHATTAN BEACH

                                                             JCT. STATION PLATFORM.  TOWER

   WAS CLOSED FOR WINTER AND

   SWITCHES WERE CONTROLLED FROM

   TOWER 75 AT THE JUNCTION WEST OF

   TOWER 74 ½ AND JUST WEST OF THE

   MANHATTAN BEACH JCT. STATION.

   CLOSED: 1907 WITH GRADE ELIMINA-

   TION PROJECT.)

 

TOWER #75: 1                                  MANHATTAN BEACH JCT. (WEST OF

                                                             OCEAN AVE., BKLYN., RAILROAD EAST)

                                                             JCT. OF BAY RIDGE AND MANHATTAN

                                                             BEACH BRANCHES  (BRICK TOWER ON

   BAY RIDGE BRANCH NORTH OF TRACKS

   AND DIRECTLY OPPOSITE THE JCT.

   WYE.  IN SVC: c. 1885.  LAST LISTED

   IN ETT AND CR4 OF 1903 AS INTER-

   LOCKING.  CONTINUED AS A TRAIN

   ORDER AND TRAIN REPORTING OFF-

   ICE AND BLOCK STATION WHEN

   RACES RUN AT CONEY ISLAND JOCK-

   EY CLUB.  REMAINED IN SITU AT

   GRADE WHEN TRACKS DEPRESSED

   FOR GRADE ELIMINATION PROJECT:

   1909.  OUT OF SVC: c. 1910 WITH

   DISCONTINUANCE OF RACE TRAINS.

   STILL INDICATED ON LIRR BLUEPRINT

   OF 1915 AS STILL STANDING BUT

   NOTED AS “ABANDONED.”)

                                     

TOWER #75: 2                                  BRT JCT. – MANHATTAN TERRACE,

   BKLYN. JCT. OF BRT EL BRIGHTON

   BEACH LINE AND LIRR MANHATTAN

   BEACH BRANCH.  (WOODEN TOWER

   IN TEMPORARY SERVICE:  5/25/1906

   ON WEST SIDE OF TRACKS JUST

   SOUTH OF MANHATTAN BEACH JCT.

   TOWER GIVEN CALL NUMBER FROM

   MANHATTAN JCT. TOWER.  TEMPO-

   RARY INTERLOCKING GONE BY 1907

   WITH GRADE ELIMINATION AND

   TRACK RELOCATION.)

 

TOWER #76                                      SOUTH GREENFIELD, BKLYN. ON MANHAT-

                                                            TAN BEACH BRANCH  (WOODEN TOWER

   LOCATED AT WEST SIDE OF TRACKS AND

   NORTH OF ELM AVENUE ACROSS FROM

   SOUTH GREENFIELD STATION.  PROBAB-

   LY GONE BY 1909 WITH GRADE ELIM-

   INATION AND TRACK RELOCATION.)

 

TOWER #77                                      KINGS HIGHWAY, BKLYN ON MANHATTAN

   BEACH BRANCH.  (WOODEN TOWER

   LOCATED ON WEST SIDE OF TRACKS

   AND SOUTH OF KINGS HIGHWAY. RE-

   NAMED “KF” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #78                                      NECK ROAD, BKLYN. ON MANHATTAN

   BEACH BRANCH (“NECK ROAD TOWER”) 

   (WOODEN TOWER BUILT ON WEST SIDE

   OF TRACKS AND SOUTH OF NECK ROAD

   [GRAVESEND NECK ROAD].  PROBABLY

   GONE BY 1909 WITH GRADE ELIMINA-

   TION AND TRACK RELOCATION.)

 

TOWER #79                                      SHEEPSHEAD BAY, BKLYN. ON MANHAT-

   TAN BEACH BRANCH (TOWER LOCATED

   AT EAST SIDE OF TRACKS AND SOUTH

   OF SHEEPSHEAD BAY RD. PROBABLY

   GONE BY 1909 WITH GRADE ELIMINA-

   TION AND TRACK RELOCATION.)

 

TOWER #79½                                   SHEEPSHEAD BAY JCT. - EMMONS AVE.

                                                             (LATER NEPTUNE AVE.) TROLLEY

                                                             CROSSING - NORTH OF MANHATTAN

                                                             BEACH STATION ON W. SIDE OF MAN-

                                                             HATTAN BEACH BRANCH TRACKS AND

                                                             NORTH SIDE OF EMMONS (NEPTUNE)

                                                             AVE. (16 LEVER MACHINE IN SVC:

                                                             10/1898 OR 12/1898.  REBUILT WITH

                                                             20 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN

                                                             SVC: 6/11/1906.  RENAMED “SQ” IN

                                                             1907.)

 

TOWER #91                                       OZONE PARK (IN SVC: 12/1906 ABOVE

   STATION BUILDING AT GRADE ON W.

   SIDE OF TRACKS.  RENAMED “RK” IN

   1907. 28 LEVER TAYLOR MECHANICAL

   MACHINE.)

 

TOWER #92                                      ON SIGNAL BRIDGE S. OF LIBERTY AVE-

   NUE, SOUTH OF OZONE PARK STATION

   ON ROCKAWAY BEACH BRANCH.  (12

   LEVER JOHNSON STYLE "A" MECHAN-

   ICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 1904. RENAMED

   “LR” IN 1907)

 

TOWER #93                                      WEST END TRESTLE (HAMILTON BEACH)

     (E. SIDE OF TRACKS AND S. OF STA-

   TION. NORTH OF JAMAICA BAY TREST-

   LE ON LAND. 16-LEVER S&F MECHAN-

   ICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  06/011904. 

   RENAMED “WD” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #94                                       ON JAMAICA BAY TRESTLE (700’ EAST OF

                                                             GOOSE CREEK STATION) (IN SVC: BY

   1906.  IN USE DURING SUMMERS ONLY. 

   RENAMED “EC” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #95                                      WEST GOOSE CREEK (ON JAMAICA BAY

                                                             TRESTLE, 2,800’ EAST OF TOWER #94. IN

   SVC: BY 1906. IN USE DURING SUMMERS

   ONLY.  RENAMED “WU” IN 1907.)

 

TOWER #96                                      ON JAMAICA BAY TRESTLE (1,300’ EAST

                                                             OF THE RAUNT STATION) (IN SVC: BY

                                                             1906.  IN USE DURING SUMMERS ONLY.

                                                             RENAMED “ER” IN 1907.)   

 

TOWER #101                                    HAMMEL SWING BRIDGE - BEACH CHAN-

                                                             NEL (HAMMEL JCT.) (WEST SIDE OF

                                                             TRACKS AND SOUTH OF CHANNEL.

                                                             16 LEVER S&F MACHINE IN SVC: 1894

                                                             RENAMED "HJ" IN 1907.                                                         

TOWER #102                                    EAST END OF HAMMEL WYE (JOHNSON

                                                             44 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  OUT

                                                             OF SVC:  8/2/1907.  REPLACED BY “HU”

                                                             TOWER.)

 

TOWER #105                                    HEMPSTEAD CROSSING, GARDEN CITY.

   JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD BRANCH, CEN-

   TRAL BRANCH AND, AFTER 1893, THE

                                                             N.Y. BAY EXTENSION (PER 1903 CR4.)

   (OPENED JAN/1890, IN NORTHWEST

   QUADRANT OF CROSSING AS TOWER

   #44.  NATIONAL/SAXBY & FARMER 36

   LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  RE-

   BUILT: 12/1893.  RENUMBERED TOW-

   ER #105: 1894. REBUILT AND RE-

   NAMED “HC”: 08/1907. INCREASED TO

   40 LEVERS: 01/28/1919.)  

 

TOWER/CABIN #?                            FLUSHING AVE. AND TROLLEY CROSSING

(FLUSHING AVE. TROLLEY XING)         OF BUSHWICK BRANCH (N. SIDE OF

                                                              TRACKS AND W. OF FLUSHING AVE.  

                                                              (3 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN

                                                              SVC:  11/26/1895 CONTROLLING 2

                                                              RAILROAD SIGNALS AND 2 TROLLEY

                                                              DERAILS. OUT OF SVC: 1941.  STOP-

                                                              BOARDS REPLACED THE SIGNALS.

                                                              Per Art Huneke’s website)

 

TOWER A (PRR)                                0.2 MILES W. OF PENN STATION AT 9TH

                                                             AVE., NY, NY. 179-LEVER, US&S MODEL

                                                             14 INTERLOCKING MACHINE IN SVC:

                                                             11/27/1910.  TRACKS WERE IN THE

                                                             OPEN AIR AND THE TOWER SPANNED

                                                             4 OF THE TRACKS.  TOWER AND

                                                             TRACKS WERE COVERED OVER:

                                                             19_?_.  INTERLOCKING MACHINE RE-

                                                             BUILT: 1940.  TOWER OUT OF SERVICE:

                                                             09/30/1994.  CONTROL TRANSFERRED

                                                             TO "PSCC." TOWER ABANDONED AND

                                                             REMAINS IN SITU.

 

“A” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)                 0.2 MILES W. OF PENN STATION (CON-                                                                 TROLLED FROM PSCC.  IN SVC:

                                                             9/30/1994)

 

TOWER A                                          LONG ISLAND CITY PSGR. YARD (W. SIDE

    OF VERNON AVENUE, IN CENTER OF

    PLATFORM ACCESS TRACKS.  4-STORY

    STRUCTURE REPLACED TOWER #1. 

    167 LEVER WESTINGHOUSE ELECTRO-

    PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC: 

   11/06/1904. 2ND FLOOR PRIMARILY

   HOUSED CONDUCTORS' ROOM AND

   TICKET RECEIVER.  3RD FLOOR HOUSED

   YARDMASTER'S OFFICE.  4TH FLOOR

   HOUSED THE BLOCK OPERATOR AND

   TOWERMEN.  LAST LISTED IN ETT #72

   OF 10/21/1913.)

 

“A1” (?) CABIN (see: “J1”)                  JAMAICA (250’ WEST OF PROSPECT ST.

                                                             [159TH ST.]  TEMPORARY CABIN AC-

   COUNT JAMAICA EAST IMPROVEMENT. 

   US&S 8 LEVER CIRCUIT CONTROLLER

   MACHINE.  IN SVC: 12/8/1929)            

 

“A”                                                     AMITYVILLE (SOUTHERN DIVISION) (IN

                                                              TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK

                                                              OF RULES AND 1903 CR4)

 

“A” CABIN                                         W. OF VERNON AVE., L. I. CITY (IN SVC:

                                                              1904. OUT OF SERVICE: 8/31/1928)

 

“A” CABIN                                         FLUSHING MAIN STREET (GONE BY 1929)

 

“A” CABIN: 1                                     CENTRAL PARK (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND

                                                              W. OF STEWART AVE.  LISTED IN ETT

                                                              OF 5/14/1916 FOR END OF DOUBLE

                                                              TRACK.  NOT LISTED IN ETT OF

                                                              6/28/1916.)

 

“A” CABIN: 2                                     CENTRAL PARK (BETHPAGE) (N. SIDE OF

                                                              TRACKS AND E. OF BROADWAY.  IN

                                                              SVC: 1914 FOR END OF DOUBLE

                                                              TRACK.  OUT OF SVC:  08/01/1917)            

 

“A” CABIN                                         FARMINGDALE (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS

   AND WEST OF MAIN ST. X-ING. FORMER-

   LY “B” CABIN.  RENAMED IN ETT #88 EFF:

   10/18/1918.  BLOCK OFFICE CLOSED:

   8/21/25 WITH OPENING OF “B” TOWER.

   CABIN REMAINED IN SERVICE TO PRO-

   TECT CROSSING WITH GATES UNDER

   SUPERVISION OF POLICE DEPARTMENT

   PER G.O. #76 SPECIAL NOTE.)     

 

“AC”   TOWER                                    JAMAICA CROSS SWITCHES (DUNTON)

     JCT. OF MAIN LINE AND ATLANTIC DIV.

                                                              (ON ATLANTIC BRANCH AT WEST END

                                                               OF JAMAICA YARD (S. SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                              AND E. OF OLD DUNTON STA. AT VAN

                                                              WYCK AVENUE. 48 LEVER S&F MECH-                                                                   ANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: BY 1888.

                                                              FORMERLY TOWER #14.  RENAMED

                                                              AND LISTED AS “AC” IN 1903 CR4) OUT

                                                              OF SVC: 1911.

 

“AD”                                                  EAST NEW YORK – END OF DOUBLE

                                                              TRACK (07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES)

 

“AD”                                                  AUBURNDALE (IN TICKET OFFICE: 1921-

                                                              1926)

 

“ADAMS” CABIN                                NORTH (RAILROAD WEST) OF AQUEDUCT

   STA. (IND CONNECTION TO ROCKAWAY

   BEACH BRANCH) AT CROSSOVER

   SWITCHES.  (TEMPORARY BLOCK STA-

   TION IN SVC. DURING RACING SEASON

   6/13/55 TO 7/9/55 PER G.O. #204 AND

   FROM 8/29/55 TO 9/20/55 PER G.O.

   #212)

 

 “AF”                                                  FLATBUSH AVE. (IN TICKET OFFICE)

                                                             (07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES AND

                                                             1903 CR4)

 

“AG”                                                  AMAGANSETT (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-

   ICE.  UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION

   SIGNALS IN SVC: 5/23/1928.  BLOCK AND

   UNATTENDED BLOCK SIGNALS RELOC-

   ATED 1,012’ E. OF FORMER LOCATION: 

   9/22/1928.  BLOCK STATION OUT OF SVC:  

   12/11/1929. UNATTENDED BLOCK STA-

   TION IN SVC. CONTINUOUSLY:

   12/11/1929.  BLOCK STATION AGAIN IN

   SVC:   ? .  OUT OF SVC: 5/19/58. BLOCK

   LIMIT STATION SIGNALS IN SVC: 5/19/58. 

   R. C. FROM BABYLON WITH CLOSE OF

   “PD” TOWER:  5/6/2006.  TO BE TAKEN

   OUT OF SERVICE:  NOVEMBER, 2017.)

 

“AH”                                                  CALVERTON (1903 CR4) (BAITING HOL-

   LOW) (TRAIN ORDER OFFICE IN TICK-

   ET OFFICE.  BLOCK OFFICE IN SVC:

   5/28/1918 PER ETT #87.  UNATTEND-

   ED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN SVC:     

   5/23/1928.  BLOCK STATION OUT OF

   SVC. BY 6/43. BLOCK LIMIT STATION

   SIGNALS IN SVC BY 6/43.  RELOCATED

   700’ EAST: 4/11/79)

 

“AK”                                                   LAKELAND (IN TICKET OFFICE)

                                                             (07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES) "RON-

                                                             KONKOMA" PER 1903 CR4 .

 

“AMITYVILLE” INTERLKG. (R.C.)       AMITYVILLE (CONTROLLED FROM

                                                              “BABYLON” OR ”PORT” IN SVC: 8/7/73. 

                                                              REMOTE FROM “BABYLON” ONLY:

                                                               5/16/83)

 

“AMOTT” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       EAST OF SYOSSET. (CONTROLLED FROM

   “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 10/7/61. NAMED IN

   HONOR OF RETIRED LIRR ENGINEERS

   JOSEPH H., JR., CHARLES A. AND JAMES

   A. AMOTT per The Long Island Railroader:

   10/11/61)  OUT OF SVC: 05/19/1986.

   AGAIN CONTROLLED FROM "DIVIDE"

                                                             19_?_.  CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-

                                                             DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

“AN”                                                   ARVERNE (STRAITON AVE.) (1903 CR4)

                                                             (IN TICKET OFFICE)

 

“AP”                                                   ATLANTIC PARK (ROCKAWAY BEACH?)

                                                              IN TICKET OFFICE. (SOUTHERN DIVI-

                                                              SION IN 07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES)

 

“AP”                                                   A&P WHSE. (CENTRAL EXTENSION) (5,200’

                                                              EAST OF “HC”.  BLOCK STATION IN SVC:

                                                              10/12/1936 FOR ONE DAY ONLY AC-

                                                              COUNT VANDERBILT CUP RACE HELD

                                                              AT ROOSEVELT RACEWAY. AGAIN IN

                                                              SVC: 7/3/1937 FOR ONE DAY ONLY AC-

                                                              COUNT SAME EVENT.  EVENT POST-

                                                              PONED 2 DAYS ACCOUNT RAIN. AS-

                                                              SUMED BLOCK STATION ACTUALLY

                                                              OPENED ON ACTUAL DATE OF EVENT:

                                                               7/5/1937. [see: The Vanderbilt Cup by

                                                              Dennis David:

                                                        http://www.ddavid.com/formula1/vand2.htm)

 

“AQ”                                                  AQUEDUCT (SUMMER ONLY PER 1903 CR4)

 

“AQ”                                                  AQUEBOGUE TRAIN ORDER OFFICE IN                                                                          TICKET OFFICE. BLOCK OFFICE IN SVC:

                                                             5/28/1918 PER ETT #87.  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             9/1927.  SEMAPHORE SIGNALS RE-

                                                             MOVED, MAST TRUNCATED AND UNAT-                                                                      TENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNALS AS

                                                             REFLECTOR DISCS IN SVC: 9/01/1927.

                                                             The discs atop the signal mast

                                                             at "AQ" were yellow and red re-

                                                             flectors, one set facing in each

                                                             direction and served the same

                                                             purpose as illuminated globes

                                                             for unattended block station

                                                             signals. The yellow and red

                                                             discs (or lights on most other

                                                             masts) representED the two

                                                             tracks, main and siding. The yel-

                                                             low light/disc always was adja-

                                                             cent to the main track. The eng-          

                                                            neer's headlight would reflect

                                                             on both discs, showing yellow

                                                             and red, in the same manner that

                                                             ILLUMINATED signals would both

                                                             DISPLAY yellow and red.  The eng-

                                                             ineer would receive a "K" clear-
                                                             ance card with the instructions

                                                             "Pass AQ as though clear block

                                                             signal were displayed." (Signal info

                                                             per Art Huneke).  OUT OF SVC: 9/8/40.

 

“AQUEDUCT”                                    AQUEDUCT RACEWAY (TEMPORARY

   BLOCK STATION AT W. END OF EAST-

   BOUND PLATFORM IN SERVICE DURING

   RACING SEASON ONLY: 

6/12/52  TO  7/13/52 (G.O. #2107)

9/01/52  TO  9/14/52 (G.O. #2113)

6/20/53  TO  7/12/53  (G.O. #2132

                                   & G.O. #2203)

8/31/53  TO  9/20/53  (G.O. #2207) 

 

“AU”                                                  SETAUKET (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-

                                                             ICE.  MANUAL BLOCK SIGNALS IN SVC:

   9/8/1915 PER ETT #79 (Art Huneke data),

   BLOCK OFFICE CLOSED IN DEPOT:

   5/8/1929.  SEMAPHORES REMOVED

   AND SIGNAL MAST CUT OFF:  5/8/1929. 

   UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL
             IN SVC: 5/8/1929 (Robt. Emery data). PER-

   MISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO

   BLOCK SIGNALS:  6/25/1928.  OUT OF
             SVC:  6/12/49.)

 

“AUTUMN” TOWER (ON SIGNAL       WEST OF AUTUMN AVE. AT HEMLOCK ST.,

                                  BRIDGE)            EAST NEW YORK  (PREVIOUSLY “CN”

   TOWER CONTROLLING  THE FORMER

   CHESTNUT ST. JCT. WITH JOINT LIRR/

   BRT SERVICE UNTIL 1917.  16-LEVER

   GRS MODEL 2 LEVER ALL ELECTRIC

   MACHINE IN SVC:  11/1922.  RENAMED

   "AUTUMN": 4/15/37. OUT OF SVC:  

   12/27/39 WITH GRADE ELIMINATION.)   

 

“AV”                                                   ARVERNE  (IN TICKET OFFICE.) 

 

“AW”                                                  EAST ROCKAWAY (IN TICKET OFFICE.

                                                             SUMMER ONLY PER 1903 CR4)

 

“AX”                                                   EAST NEW YORK (JCT WITH MANHATTAN

                                                             BEACH BRANCH PER 1903 CR4)

 

“AY”                                                   ROCKAWAY PARK (1903 CR4) (TRAIN

                                                             ORDER OFFICE IN DEPOT)

 

“AY” TOWER                                      ROCKAWAY AVE., NEW LOTS – MANHAT-

                                                             TAN BEACH BRANCH (8 LEVER MECH-                                                                        ANICAL MACHINE.  IN SVC:  3/14/1896.

                                                             FORMERLY TOWER #73.  RENAMED: 

                                                             1907.  OUT OF SVC:   ? )

 

TOWER “B”                                        EAST OF EAST AVE., L. I. CITY (EAST OF

   TOWER “A”, NEAR MONTAUK JCT.

   ACROSS TRACKS FROM FORMER LOCA-

   TION OF TOWER #1.  IN SVC:  1905 OR

   LATER TO ASSIST TOWER “A”.  LAST

   LISTED IN ETT #72 OF 10/21/1913. OUT

   OF SVC:  1913-1914.  RAZED:

   11/22/1922)

 

“B1” CABIN                                       BAYSIDE (TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION

   2,000’ EAST OF AUBURNDALE STATION,

   S. SIDE OF TRACKS ACCOUNT GRADE

   CROSSING ELIMINATION AT AUBURN-

   DALE AND BAYSIDE.  US&S 4 LEVER

   STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC: 

   6/18/1929.  OUT OF SVC:  12/5/1929.)

 

“B2” CABIN                                       BAYSIDE (TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION                    

                                                             1,500’ EAST OF BAYSIDE STATION ON

                                                             E. SIDE OF FREIGHT HOUSE, N. SIDE

                                                             OF TRACKS ACCOUNT GRADE CROS-

   SING ELIMINATION AT AUBURNDALE

   AND BAYSIDE. US&S 4 LEVER STYLE

   TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC:  6/18/1929. 

   OUT OF SVC:  12/5/1929.)

 

“B” CABIN                                         CROSSING WATCHMAN’S CABIN - GARDEN

   CITY (EAST SIDE OF FRANKLIN AVENUE,

   BETWEEN CENTRAL AND HEMPSTEAD

   BRANCHES, BUILT WITH A 2-LEVER

   DWARF INTERLOCKING MACHINE CON-

   TROLLING DERAILS AND DWARF SIGNALS

   ON THE N.Y. & L.I. TRACTION CO. TRACKS

   ON FRANKLIN AVENUE. INTERLOCKED

   WITH “HC” TOWER.  IN SVC: 1920s.  OUT

   OF SVC:  1/27/39 WITH OPENING OF

   “GARDEN” CABIN.)

 

“B” CABIN                                         FARMINGDALE (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND

                                                             WEST OF MAIN ST. X-ING.  FIRST AP-

                                                             PEARS IN ETT #73, EFF: 5/27/1914. 

                                                             RENAMED “A” CABIN IN ETT #88, EFF:

                                                             10/18/1918.) (SEE “A” CABIN)

 

“B” CABIN                                         BROADWAY, FLUSHING (S. SIDE OF

                                                             TRACKS AND E. OF STATION.  IN SVC:

                                                             1913.  NO LONGER LISTED AS IN SVC.

                                                             PER ETT #90 EFFECTIVE 10/16/1919)

 

“B” TOWER                                       EAST OF EAST AVE., L. I. CITY (EAST OF

   TOWER “A”, NEAR MONTAUK JCT.

   ACROSS TRACKS FROM FORMER LOCA-

   TION OF TOWER #1. ALSO REFERRED

   TO AS “TOWER B.”  IN SVC:  1905 OR

   LATER TO ASSIST TOWER “A”.  LAST LIST-

   ED IN ETT #72 OF 10/21/1913. OUT OF

   SVC:  1913-1914.  RAZED: 11/22/1922)

 

“B” TOWER: 1                                   BETHPAGE  (JCT. OF CENTRAL BRANCH

                                                             EXT. TO MAIN LINE) (WOODEN TOWER

                                                             OPENED  8/21/1925, SOUTH SIDE OF

   TRACKS. SAXBY & FARMER 24 LEVER

   MECHANICAL MACHINE.  PERMISSIVE

   BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIG-

   NALS:  6/25/1928.  ADDITIONAL US&S 5

   LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE TO

   CONTROL “PW” IN SVC:  7/29/1930. 

   BOTH MACHINES OUT OF SVC:  5/28/36

   AND TOWER RAZED ACCOUNT CON-

   STRUCTION BETHPAGE STATE PKY.) 

 

“B” TOWER: 2                                   BETHPAGE (JCT. OF CENTRAL BRANCH

                                                             EXT. TO MAIN LINE) (REPLACEMENT

   BRICK TOWER 230’ EAST OF FORMER

   LOCATION AND SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS.

   INTERLOCKING RELOCATED 85’ SOUTH

   OF FORMER LOCATION ACCOUNT COM-

   PLETION OF BRIDGE OVER BETHPAGE

   STATE PKY.  ORNATE BRICKWORK WAS

   DESIGNED BY ROBT. MOSES TO COMP-

   LIMENT THE PARKWAY OVERPASS

   STONEWORK.  19-LEVER US&S MODEL

   14, STYLE F, ALL ELECTRIC MACHINE IN

   SVC: 05/28/36.  UNATTENDED BLOCK

   SIGNAL IN SVC:  11/1/37.  OUT OF SVC:

   4/27/87.  HEAVILY VANDALIZED AND

   GRAFFITTI-COVERED, WAS PLACED IN

   USE BY SIGNAL DEPT.  (per Robt. Myers,

   there's been talk [2019] of possible restora-

   tion.)

 

“BA”                                                   BRIDGEHAMPTON (FOR SAG HARBOR BR.)

   JCT. OF MONTAUK AND SAG HARBOR

   BRANCHES 1895 – 1939 (IN TICKET OFF-

   ICE.  UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIG-

   NAL ON SAG HARBOR BRANCH E. OF

   LUMBER LANE. IN SVC: 1/8/29.  BLOCK

   OFFICE CLOSED IN DEPOT: 1/28/32. 

   UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL

   OUT OF SVC:  5/3/1939.)

 

“BA” CABIN                                       BAYPORT (LISTED IN ETT OF 9/9/1915 ON

                                                             S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF  SNEDE-

                                                            COR AVE.  GONE FROM ETT OF 9/9/1915.

                                                             BLOCK OFFICE MOVED INTO DEPOT.)

 

“BA” CABIN                                       BEAUFORT (104TH) AVE., OZONE PARK

                                                             (1,100’ WEST OF “RK” INTERLOCKING

                                                             STATION.  TEMPORARY CABIN ACCOUNT

                                                             OZONE PARK GRADE CROSSING ELIM-

                                                             INATION AND NEW ATLANTIC BRANCH

                                                             CONNECTION TRACK INSTALLATION. 

                                                             US&S 7 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACH-
                                                             INE AND 1 LEVER US&S CIRCUIT CON-

                                                             TROLLER IN SVC: 4/25/1930.  OUT OF

   SVC:  3/25/1931.)

 

"BABYLON"                                       TRAIN ORDER OFFICE IN DEPOT PER ETT

                                                             OF 06/28/1916.  LATER "BN" PER ETT

                                                             OF 05/28/1918.

 

“BABYLON EAST”                              BABYLON (SEE:  “BABYLON” TOWER: 2) 

                                                             (IN SVC:  5/28/2006 WITH CLOSING OF

   “PD” TOWER IN PATCHOGUE.)

                                                         

“BABYLON” TOWER: 1                      BABYLON (SOUTH OF TRACKS AND EAST

   OF STATION AND DEER PARK AVE.

   PREVIOUSLY “BJ” TOWER. US&S 23 LEV-

   ER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC

   MACHINE.  RENAMED: 4/30/37.  OUT OF

   SVC:  4/6/63 WITH GRADE ELIMINATION.)

 

“BABYLON” TOWER: 2                      BABYLON (NORTH OF TRACKS AND EAST

                                                             OF STATION AND DEER PARK AVE. NEW

   TOWER DUE TO GRADE ELIMINATION IN

   SVC: 4/6/63. US&S 27 LEVER MODEL 14

   ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE, OUT

   OF SVC:  9/9/64.  US&S STYLE UR CON-

   TROL PANEL IN SVC:  9/9/64.  BRISTOL

   ALL-RELAY PUSH-BUTTON CONTROL

   PANEL FOR CONTROL OF AMITYVILLE

   AND WANTAGH INTERLOCKINGS IN SVC:

   9/08/07/1973. TOWER REMODELED

   AND HIP ROOF ADDED: 1987.  BLOCK

   OFFICE DIVIDED INTO “BABYLON EAST”

   AND “BABYLON WEST” UTILIZING TWO

   BLOCK OPERATORS, EFF: 5/28/2006

   WITH CLOSING OF “PD” TOWER.  “BAB-

   YLON EAST” HANDLED BLOCK FROM

   BABYLON EASTWARD TO MONTAUK. 

   “BABYLON WEST” HANDLED BLOCK

   FROM BABYLON WESTWARD)

 

“BABYLON WEST”                             BABYLON (SEE:  “BABYLON” TOWER: 2) 

                                                             (IN SVC:  5/28/2006 WITH CLOSING OF

   “PD” TOWER IN PATCHOGUE.)

 

“BAY” BLOCK STATION (R.C.)          NEW UTRECHT AVE., BAY RIDGE, BKLYN.

                                                             (PREVIOUSLY “NU” BLOCK STATION. RE-

   MOTE FROM “FREMONT.” IN SVC.

   4/4/66.  OUT OF SVC: 4/15/70)

 

“BAY” BLOCK STATION                    EAST OF BAYSIDE - TEMPORARY BLOCK

   STATION FOR SINGLE TRACKING DUR-

   ING TRACK REHABILITATION BETWEEN

   BAYSIDE AND SHEA STADIUM AND BAY-

   SIDE AND GREAT NECK, BOUNCING

   BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN THE 1ST

   AND 2ND CROSSOVER SWITCHES EAST

   OF BAYSIDE. 

   IN SVC:    4/05/78.  O.O.S:    5/07/78

   RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    5/08/78

   RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    6/07/78. 

   RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    8/09/78. 

        O.O.S:  10/14/78

   IN SVC:  11/01/78.  O.O.S:  12/13/78

   IN SVC:    2/05/79.  O.O.S:    4/23/79

   IN SVC:  10/02/82 FOR ONE DAY ONLY

   RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    3/14/83. 

   RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    4/04/83. 

   RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    5/09/83. 

   IN SVC:    7/12/86 FOR ONE DAY ONLY

                                                             IN SVC:    7/19/86 FOR ONE DAY ONLY

                                                             IN SVC:    9/27/86 FOR ONE DAY ONLY

                                                             IN SVC:    3/28/87 FOR ONE DAY ONLY

                                                             IN SVC:    8/15/87 FOR ONE DAY ONLY

                                                             IN SVC:    8/22/87 FOR ONE DAY ONLY

                                                             IN SVC:    3/12/88.  O.O.S:  3/13/88

 

“BAY” :1 INTERLOCKING (R.C.)        EAST OF BAYSIDE (CONTROLLED FROM

   “HAROLD” IN SVC: 3/21/88. OUT OF

   SVC:  07/03/1999.

 

"BAY" :2 INTERLOCKING (R.C.)        EAST OF BAYSIDE (CONTROLLED FROM

                                                             JAMAICA IN SVC: 07/03/1999 WHEN

                                                             "HAROLD" WAS TAKEN OUT OF SVC.

 

“BC” CABIN                                       BROAD CHANNEL ON ROCKAWAY BEACH

   BRANCH (BRIDGE TENDER’S CABIN ON

   W. SIDE OF TRACKS AND S. OF STA-

   TION.  LOCATED ON SWING BRIDGE. 

   SAXBY & FARMER 4 LEVER MECHANI-

   CAL MACHINE IN SVC: 1908. BRIDGE

   TENDER HANDLED BLOCK SIGNALS.

   RENAMED "BROAD CHANNEL DRAW-

   BRIDGE.  REPLACED WITH 4 LEVER

   US&S MODEL TC TABLE MACHINE: 

   03/10/37 (?). 

  

“BC” CABIN                                       FRESH POND (TEMPORARY CABIN DURING

METROPOLITAN AVE. GRADE CROSSING     ELIMINATION.  IN SVC: 3/8/1915)

 

“BD”                                                  BAY RIDGE (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“BD”                                                  BEDFORD (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“BE” CABIN                                       JCT. OF BELMONT PARK RACE TRACK

   WITH MAIN LINE WEST OF BELLEROSE

   (TEMPORARY CABIN IN SVC: 1923 SOUTH

   SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF EAST

   LEG OF JUNCTION WYE. SUMMERS

   ONLY. OUT OF SVC: 1924)

 

“BE” CABIN                                       BELLEROSE (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W.

                                                            OF STATION.  REPLACED “WA” TOWER.

                                                             CABIN IN SVC. PER ETT #49 EFF. 9/1908. 

                                                             OUT OF SVC:  1923)  (Data per Art Huneke)

 

“BE” CABIN                                       BETHPAGE JCT. (TEMPORARY BLOCK

                                                             STATION BUILT 1925, SOUTH SIDE

   OF TRACKS, JUST WEST OF CONSTRUC-

   TION SITE,  FOR USE DURING CON –

   STRUCTION OF “B” TOWER.  CLOSED

   8/21/1925 WITH OPENING OF “B”

   TOWER)

 

“BEACH” TOWER                              HAMILTON BEACH (PREVIOUSLY “WD”

   TOWER) (EAST SIDE OF TRACKS AND

   SOUTH [RAILROAD EAST] OF STATION.

   SAXBY & FARMER 16 LEVER MECHAN-

   ICAL MACHINE.  RENAMED:  5/1/37. 

   US&S 7 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MA-

   CHINE CONTROLLING “HB” [HOWARD

   BEACH] INTERLOCKING DURING

   AQUEDUCT GRADE CROSSING ELIM-

   INATION PROJECT IN SVC: 11/13/39. 

   7 LEVER MACHINE AND “HB” OUT OF

   SVC: 9/26/40. “BEACH” TOWER OUT

   OF SVC: 7/16/51.)

 

“BEDFORD JUNCTION”                    BEDFORD, BKLYN (1st  INTERLOCKING

                                                             PLANT ON THE LIRR) (LOCATED ON

   ATLANTIC BRANCH.) JUNCTION OF

   L.I.R.R. ATLANTIC BRANCH AND BROOK-

   LYN, FLATBUSH & CONEY ISLAND R.R.

   (IN SVC: 6/14/1879 ON S. SIDE OF

   TRACKS INSIDE JUNCTION WYE. 14 LEV-

   ER SAXBY & FARMER MECHANICAL MA-

   CHINE. INTERLOCKING PLANT LASTED 5

   TO 6 YEARS.  TOWER REMAINED INTO

   THE 1890s) (per Art Huneke)

 

"BEDFORD” TOWER                         EAST (RAILROAD WEST) OF STATION,

   OCEAN AVE., BKLYN. (ON BAY RIDGE

   BRANCH AT MANHATTAN BEACH JCT.)

   (BRICK TOWER PREVIOUSLY  NAMED

   “MJ”. 24-LEVER GRS TYPE B ELECTRO-

   MECHANICAL MACHINE: 16-LEVER

   ELECTRICAL AND 8-LEVER MECHANIC-

   AL IN SVC:  1918.   RENAMED: 1938. 

   OUT OF SVC: 12/29/49. UPPER POR-

   TION RAZED.  LOWER PORTION STILL

   STANDING AS LATE AS 1985 ALTHOUGH

   HEAVILY VANDALIZED.  

 

“BEDFORD” BLOCK STATION          OCEAN AVE., BKLYN. (IN SVC. 3/2/66.

   OUT OF SVC: 4/4/66)

 

“BEDFORD” BLOCK STA. (R.C.)        OCEAN AVE., BKLYN. (REMOTE FROM

                                                             “FREMONT.”  IN SVC: 4/4/66.  OUT OF

                                                             SVC.  4/15/70.)

 

“BETH: INTERLOCKING STA.           EAST OF BETHPAGE.  (TEMPORARILY

   CONTROLLED FROM THE LOCAL CON-

   TROL PANEL IN THE HUT.  USED DUR-

   ING ELECTRIFICATION EXTENSION TO 

   RONKONKOMA.  IN SVC:  4/27/87. 

   OUT OF SVC:  6/15/87. 

 

“BETH” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)          EAST OF BETHPAGE (CONTROLLED

   FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 6/15/87.

   CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-DIVIDE"

   PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021.)

 

“BF” CABIN                                       BABYLON – “BELMONT JCT.”  JCT. OF

   CENTRAL AND MONTAUK BRANCHES

   (LOCATED ON CENTRAL BRANCH.

   CLOSED 8/21/1925 WITH OPENING

   OF “B” TOWER)

 

"BG"                                                  BRIDGE HAMPTON (2 WORDS) (ETT #11

                                                             EFF. 11/08/1874) (BECAME "BH" IN 1878)

 

“BG”                                                  BETHPAGE JCT. (07/17/1878 BOOK OF

                                                             RULES)

 

“BG” CABIN                                       LONG BEACH (SUMMER USE ONLY) (EAST

                                                            SIDE OF TRACKS AT ENTRANCE TO

                                                             YARD.  IN SERVICE: 1913.  OUT OF SVC.

                                                             FOR THE WINTER:  10/10/22.  OUT OF

   SVC. PERMANENTLY: 10/17/28.)

 

“BH”                                                  BRIDGEHAMPTON (1878 BOOK OF RULES

   AND 1903 CR4) JCT. OF MONTAUK AND

   SAG HARBOR BRANCHES 1895 – 1939. 

   (IN TICKET OFFICE.  UNATTENDED

   BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN SVC: 

   1/8/1929.  FULL-TIME BLOCK OFFICE IN

   DEPOT OUT OF SVC:  1/18/32.  UNAT-

   TENDED BLOCK STATION IN SVC. CON-

   TINUOUSLY:  1/18/32. MANNED, PART-

   TIME BLOCK STATION IN SVC. “SUM-

   MERS ONLY.”  PARTIAL DATES AS FOL-

   LOWS:

          IN SVC:  6/25/33.  O.O.S:  9/ ? /33. 

          IN SVC:  6/23/35.  O.O.S:  9/15/35.

   BLOCK LIMIT STATION SIGNALS IN SVC:

   9/15/35 [?].  JUNCTION REMOVED:

   1939 WITH ABANDONMENT OF SAG -

   HARBOR BRANCH. UNATTENDED

   BLOCK STATION SIGNAL RELOCATED

   500’ EAST OF FORMER LOCATION: 

   8/11/39.  R.C. FROM BABYLON

   5/6/2006.  OUT OF SVC:  NOVEMBER,

   2017.)

 
“BI”                                                    BAYSIDE (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“BJ” CABIN                                       BUSHWICK JCT – FRESH POND – TEMPO-

                                                             RARY INTERLOCKING ACCOUNT GRADE

                                                             CROSSING ELIMINATION.  LISTED IN

                                                             ETT OF 9/9/1915.  NOT LISTED IN ETT

                                                             OF 6/28/1916.

 

“BJ” TOWER                                      BABYLON (BELMONT JCT.) (SOUTH SIDE
   OF TRACKS, E. OF BABYLON STATION
   AND DEER PARK AVE.  23-LEVER US&S
   MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACH-
   INE IN SVC:  8/25/1925.  RENAMED 
   “BABYLON” PER G.O. #627 EFF: 4/30/37.)

 

“BJ” TOWER                                      FRESH POND AT BUSHWICK JCT. (NORTH

                                                             SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF STATION.

                                                             FORMERLY TOWER #7.  RENAMED IN

   1907. GONE BY 1920s)

 

“BK”                                                  STONY BROOK  (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

   OFFICE.  MANUAL BLOCK SIGNALS IN

   SVC:  9/8/1915 PER ETT #79 (Art Huneke

   data). 2-LEVER GRS WALL TYPE MECH-

   ANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  1917.  UNAT-

   TENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN-

   STALLED: 5/1928. PERMISSIVE BLOCK

   ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS: 

   6/25/1928.  WALL TYPE MECHANICAL

   MACHINE REPLACED BY 2-LEVER TABLE

   MACHINE SOMETIME AFTER 2/26/39

   [PER INTERLOCKING DRAWINGS].  LAST

   INDICATED AS FULL-TIME BLOCK OF-

   FICE PER ETT #17, EFF. 9/11/49.  INDI-

   CATED AS PART-TIME BLOCK OFFICE

   PER ETT #18, EFF. 6/25/50.  BLOCK

   AND BLOCK LIMIT SIGNALS RELOCATED

   406’ WEST OF FORMER LOCATION AND

   CONVERTED TO POSITION LIGHT SIG-

   NALS:  10/26/59.  BLOCK AND BLOCK

   LIMIT SIGNALS RELOCATED TO A POINT

   150' EAST OF NEW HIGH-LEVEL PLAT-

   FORM ON S. SIDE OF MAIN TRACK WITH

   TRACK REALIGNMENT AND REBUILT IN-

   TERLOCKING:  11/14/88 PER G.N. 2-41. 

   PART-TIME BLOCK OFFICE PERMANENT-

   LY OUT OF SVC:  9/27/91)

 

“BLISS” TOWER                                BLISSVILLE, L.I. CITY  - JCT. OF MONTAUK

   BRANCH AND MONTAUK CUT-OFF. (SEE:

   “BX” TOWER. STEEL SPIRAL STAIRCASE

   REPLACED WOODEN STAIRS:   ? .  OUT

   OF SVC: 10/12/60. RAZED 11/17/60.)

 

“BLISS” CABIN                                  BLISSVILLE, L.I. CITY – JCT. OF MONTAUK

   BRANCH AND MONTAUK CUT-OFF.

   (IN SVC: 10/12/60 ON N. SIDE OF

   TRACKS, W. OF GREENPOINT AVE., 112’

   WEST OF PREVIOUS LOCATION.  US&S 4

   LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE.  YEAR-

   ROUND OFFICE CLOSED 1990s. RE-

   OPENED DURING SUMMER MONTHS)

 

“BM” TOWER                                    BELMONT PARK RACE TRACK. (OPENED

                                                             1905 EAST SIDE OF TRACKS AND N.

   OF HEMPSTEAD TPKE.  STANDARD

   STYLE "A" 16 LEVER MECHANICAL

   MACHINE.  CONTROLLED 4-TRACK AC-

   CESS TO PARK WHERE IT BOTTLE-

   NECKED TO TWO TRACKS.  DESTROYED

   BY FIRE:  7/9/1925)

 

“BM”  CABIN                                      BELMONT PARK RACE TRACK JCT. (2,850’

   EAST OF “QU”, QUEENS VILLAGE AND

   1650’  EAST OF “KW” CABIN. BLOCK STA-

   TION IN SVC. FOR RACING EVENTS ONLY.

   PARTIAL DATES AS FOLLOWS:

   IN SVC:    9/02/29.  O.O.S:    9/16/29

   IN SVC:  11/02/29.  O.O.S:  11/05/29

   IN SVC:    5/15/30.  O.O.S:    6/10/30

   IN SVC:    9/01/30.  O.O.S:    9/17/30

   IN SVC:    5/15/31.  O.O.S:    6/13/31

   IN SVC:    9/07/31.  O.O.S:    9/19/31

   IN SVC:    9/05/32.  O.O.S:    9/17/32

   IN SVC:    5/27/33.  O.O.S:    6/16/33

   IN SVC:    9/04/33.  O.O.S:    9/16/33

   IN SVC:    5/16/34.  O.O.S:    6/09/34

   IN SVC:    9/03/34.  O.O.S:    9/15/34

   IN SVC:    5/15/35.  O.O.S:    6/08/35

   IN SVC:    9/30/35.  O.O.S:  10/12/35

   IN SVC:    5/11/36.  O.O.S:    6/06/36

   IN SVC:    9/17/36.  O.O.S:  10/03/36

   IN SVC:    5/10/37.  O.O.S:    6/05/37.

 

“BN”                                                  BABYLON (IN TICKET OFFICE)

                                                             (07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES AND 1903

                                                             CR4)

 

“BN” CABIN                                       BABYLON (FIRST APPEARS ON ETT OF

   1918.  IN USE THROUGHOUT ELECTRI-

   FICATION PROJECT AND CONSTRUC-

   TION  OF “BJ” TOWER. NORTH SIDE OF

   TRACKS AT WEST END OF BABYLON
   STATION PLATFORM. OUT OF SVC:
   AFTER MAY/1925, WHEN “BJ” TOWER

   PLACED IN SERVICE.)

 

“BO”                                                  BELLPORT (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.

   BLOCK STATION OUT OF SVC: 

   12/11/1929.  UNATTENDED BLOCK STA-

   TION IN SVC. CONTINUOUSLY:

   12/11/1929.  BLOCK STATION AGAIN IN

   SVC:   ? .  OUT OF SVC:  BY 6/43.  BLOCK

   LIMIT STATION SIGNALS IN SVC. BY 06/43. 

   OUT OF SVC:  05/06/2006)

 

“BP”                                                   BAYPORT (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE. 

   UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION RELOCAT-

   ED 200’ WEST OF SWITCH 2: 

   10/22/1929)

 

“BQ”  CABIN                                      BELLPORT  (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E.

   OF STATION ROAD. IN SERVICE: 1916 –

   1919. BURNED: 1919, NOT REPLACED)

 

“BR”                                                  BRENTWOOD (IN TICKET OFFICE)

                                                             (07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES AND

                                                             1903 CR4)

 

“BR”                                                  BROOKLYN MANOR (S. OF DEPOT AND W.

                                                              SIDE OF TRACKS. BLOCK STATION IN

                                                              SVC:  5/22/36 ACCOUNT 91ST AVE.

                                                              BRIDGE RECONSTRUCTION.  US&S 4

                                                              LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE. 

                                                              OUT OF SVC:  10/23/36.)

 

“BRENT”                                            E. OF BRENTWOOD AT START OF DOU-

                                                              BLE TRACK EASTBOUND (TEMP BLOCK

                                                              SIGNAL IN SVC: 9/14/87 DURING ELEC-

                                                              TRIFICATION PROJECT.  R.C. FROM "DIV-

                                                              IDE" TOWER.  OUT OF SVC:  12/14/87.

                                                              REPLACED BY “BRENT" INTERLOCKING)

 

“BRENT” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)        EAST OF BRENTWOOD AT START OF DOU-

                                                              BLE TRACK WESTBOUND (CONTROLLED

                                                              FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 12/14/87. RE-

                                                              MOVED FROM SVC: 08/06/2018 WITH

                                                              DOUBLE-TRACKING TO RONKONKOMA

                                                              PER GN #4-17)

 

“BRIDGE STREET DRAWBRIDGE”   DRAWBRIDGE WEST OF FLUSHING,

                                                             BRIDGE STREET STATION ON WHITE-

                                                             STONE BRANCH.  3 LEVER DWARF

                                                             GROUND FRAMES AT EACH END OF

                                                              DRAWBRIDGE.  IN SVC:  c. 1912.  OUT

                                                              OF SVC:  c. 1930.  REPLACED BY 2 LEV-

                                                              ER S&F DWARF MACHINES:  c. 1930.

                                                              DRAWBRIDGE OUT OF SVC: 2/19/32

                                                              WITH BRANCH ABANDONMENT.)

 

“BROAD CHANNEL                           SWING BRIDGE ON S. SIDE OF CHANNEL.

   DRAWBRIDGE”                                   (ORIGINALLY CONTROLLED BY “BC”

                                                              CABIN.  ORIGINAL MACHINE RE-
                                                              PLACED BY 4-LEVER US&S STYLE TC

                                                              TABLE MACHINE IN SVC: 03/10/37 [?].

                                                              LATER CONTROLLED BY “DRAW”

                                                              TOWER.  INTERLOCKING AND INTER-

                                                              LOCKING STATION OUT OF SVC: 

                                                              5/23/50 WITH ABANDONMENT OF

                                                               JAMAICA BAY TRESTLE AFTER FIRE

                                                              DESTROYED TRESTLE.)

 

“BROOK” TOWER: 1                          FLATBUSH AVE., BROOKLYN (UNDER-

   GROUND: E. END OF STATION PLAT-

   FORM BETWEEN TRACKS 4 AND 5. 

   FORMERLY “FT”. RENAMED:  4/15/37.  

   OUT OF SVC: 11/07/1999. 

 

“BROOK” TOWER: 2                          FLATBUSH AVE., BROOKLYN (UNDER-

   GROUND: RELOCATED TO YARDMAST-

   ER’S OFFICE AT E. END OF PLATFORM

   BETWEEN TRACKS 2 AND 3.  28-LEVER

   US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC

   MACHINE (REWORKED 1906 MACHINE)

   IN SVC:  11/07/99)

 

“BROOK 1” INTERLOCKING             EAST OF FLATBUSH AVE., BROOKLYN (IN

   SVC: 11/07/99)

 

“BROOK 2”  INTERLOCKING             VANDERBILT AVE., BROOKLYN (IN SVC:

                                                             11/07/99 R.C. FROM "BROOK" TOWER)

 

“BS” CABIN                                       BAYSIDE (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W.

                                                             END OF E.B. STATION PLATFORM.  IN

                                                             SERVICE: 12/26/1919 – 10/01/1926)

 

“BS” TOWER                                     BLISSVILLE, L.I. CITY – JCT. OF MONTAUK

   BRANCH AND MONTAUK CUT-OFF. (SEE:

   “BX” TOWER.  RENAMED “BLISS” PER G.O.

   #603/625 EFF: 4/22/37)

 

“BT”                                                   BLUEPOINT (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“BU”                                                  BUSHWICK (SOUTHERN DIVISION) (IN

                                                               TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK OF

                                                               RULES AND 1903 CR4)

 

“BUSHWICK DRAWBRIDGE”            SWINGBRIDGE ON BUSHWICK BRANCH

                                                              (TWO US&S/S&F DWARF MACHINES -

                                                              2 LEVERS EACH – ON EAST END AND

                                                              WEST END  OF BRIDGE IN SVC:  1902.

                                                              SMASHBOARD SIGNALS INSTALLED:

                                                              3/26/1929

 

“BURKE” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       WEST OF HUNTINGTON (CONTROLLED

                                                             FROM "DIVIDE" IN SVC: 5/22/62.

   NAMED AFTER RETIRED TRACK FORE-

   MAN PATRICK BURKE per The Long Island

   Railroader: 10/11/61.  NAMED AFTER RE-

   TIRED CONDUCTOR JOE BURKE per

   W. S.  Boerckel.  OUT OF SVC: 6/26/72. 

   BECAME “HUNT 1” LOCATION)

 

“BV”                                                   BELLMORE (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“BW”                                                  BALDWIN (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“BW” CABIN                                      BELLAIRE (IN SVC: c. 1923 FOR GRADE

                                                             CROSSING/4-TRACKING PROJECT. 

                                                             OUT OF SVC:  ? )

 

“BX” TOWER                                     BLISSVILLE, L.I. CITY – JCT. OF MONTAUK

   BRANCH AND MONTAUK CUT-OFF.

   NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS

   AND WEST SIDE OF GREENPOINT AVE.

   (16-LEVER JOHNSON STYLE "A" MECH-

   ANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 06/25/1894.

   FORMERLY TOWER #3: 2. RENAMED

   “BX”: 11/04/1907.  MOVED SOUTH OF

   TRACKS AND WEST SIDE OF GREEN-

   POINT AVE.:  03/01/1908.  INCREASED

   TO 24-LEVER GRS/S&F MECHANICAL

   MACHINE: 03/01/1908. RENAMED “BS”:

   11/23/1928. RENAMED “BLISS”:

   4/22/37.)

 

“BY”                                                   BAYSHORE (SOUTHERN DIVISION) (IN

                                                             TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK OF

                                                             RULES AND 1903 CR4)

 

“C3” (?) CABIN (see: “J3”)                  JAMAICA (300’ WEST OF “RJ” TOWER. IN

                                                             SVC: 12/1/1929 FOR “JAMAICA IMPROVE-

   MENT EAST” PROJECT.)                                  

 

“C”                                                     COLLEGE POINT (NORTH SHORE DIVISON)

                                                             (IN TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK

                                                             OF RULES AND 1903 CR4)

 

“C” CABIN                                         CUMBERLAND STREET, JAMAICA ON OLD

                                                              SOUTHERN ROAD BETWEEN 108th AVE.

                                                              AND 109th RD, SOUTH OF THE OLD

                                                              "SJ" TOWER, AND PAST THE END OF

                                                              THE 1913 VIADUCT (IN SVC: 1913 DUR-

                                                              ING JAMAICA GRADE ELIMINATION.

                                                              OUT OF SVC. THE SAME YEAR WITH

                                                              COMPLE TION OF PROJECT. APPEARS

                                                              AGAIN IN ETTs OF 06/28/1916 AND

                                                              05/28/1918.)

 

TOWER “C” (PRR)                              EAST END OF LIRR TRACKS AT PENN

                                                             STATION, 7TH AVE., NY, NY. IN SVC: 

                                                             09/1910. OUT OF SVC: 09/30/94. 

                                                             CONTROL TRANSFERRED TO "PSCC."            

 

“C” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)                 0.1 MILE EAST OF PENN STATION (CON-                                                                        TROLLED FROM PSCC. IN SVC: 9/30/94)

 

“CA”                                                   MORRIS PARK SHOPS (1903 CR4)

 

“CA” CABIN                                       WEST OF CENTRAL AVE., VALLEY STREAM.

   (US&S 14 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MA-

   CHINE IN SVC:  8/10/32 ACCOUNT VAL-

   LEY STREAM GRADE CROSSING ELIMINA-

   TION. OUT OF SVC:  9/10/33 WITH

   PLACING OF ELEVATED JCT. OF W.

   HEMPSTEAD BRANCH IN SVC.  ALL SIG-

   NALS AND CONTROLS HANDLED BY “VA”

   TOWER.)               

 

“CANAL”                                            N. SIDE OF PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH                                                                       TRACKS AND E END OF FLUSHING

                                                             RIVER BRIDGE - CORONA/FLUSHING

                                                             MEADOWS. FORMERLY "FLUSHING

                                                             DRAW BRIDGE" BRIDGE-TENDER'S

                                                             CABIN.  RENAMED ACCOUNT STORM

                                                             SEWER CONSTRUCTION FROM E. SIDE

                                                             OF WORLD'S FAIR INTO FLUSHING RIV-

                                                             ER. (US&S 6 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE

                                                             MACHINE IN SVC: 07/13/38.  OUT OF

                                                             SVC: 09/19/38.)

 

“CD”                                                  FLUSHING, CENTRAL DEPOT (NORTH

                                                             SHORE DIVISION) (IN TICKET OFFICE)

                                                             07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES)

 

“CD” CABIN                                       CENTRAL PARK (NEAR W. END OF STA-

                                                               TION PLATFORM. IN SVC:  6/24/1909

                                                              PER G.O. #82 FOR MANUAL BLOCK. 

                                                              USED IN CONJUNCTION WITH “FB”

                                                              CABIN AND “HX” TOWER.  GONE BY

                                                              1911 ETT WHEN MANUAL BLOCK NO

                                                              LONGER IN EF FECT ON MAIN LINE

                                                              EAST OF “HX”.)

 

“CE”                                                   LAWRENCE (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-

                                                              ICE.)

 

“CENTRE”                                          ROCKVILLE CENTRE (TEMPORARY BLOCK

                                                              OFFICE DURING ROCKVILLE CENTRE

                                                              GRADE ELIMINATION.  LOCATED IN

                                                              TICKET OFC. ON TEMPORARY  WEST-

                                                              BOUND PLATFORM.  US&S 4 LEVER

                                                              STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE.  IN SVC:

                                                              4/19/49.  OUT OF SVC: 7/18/50)

 

“CF”                                                   SEA CLIFF (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“CH”                                                  CONEY ISLAND (ON PROSPECT PARK &

                                                             CONEY ISLAND RAIL ROAD) (1878 BK

                                                             OF RULES AND 1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

                                                                                                   OFFICE.)

 

“CI”                                                    CENTRAL ISLIP STATION (1903 CR4)

                                                             TRAIN ORDER OFFICE IN TICKET OFF-

                                                             ICE. BLOCK OFFICE IN SVC: 1916.

                                                             ONE LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE. 

                                                             REPLACED IN 1930s BY 2-LEVER

                                                             TABLE MACHINE.  UNATTENDED

                                                             BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN SVC: 

                                                             5/23/28.  PERMISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT

                                                             ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS: 6/25/28.   

                                                             BLOCK SIGNALS RELOCATED 1,050’  

                                                             EAST OF FORMER LOCATION.  BLOCK

                                                             AND BLOCK LIMIT SIGNALS RELOCAT-

                                                             ED AN ADDITIONAL 170’ EAST: 9/9/77.   

                                                             BLOCK AND BLOCK LIMIT STATION

                                                             OUT OF SVC:  12/14/87 WITH ELECTRI-

                                                             FICATION PROJECT.)  

 

"CI" INTERLOCKING (R.C.)                1.5 MILES EAST OF BRENTWOOD STA-

                                                             TION, ¾ MILES WEST OF CENTRAL IS-

                                                             LIP STATION (CONTROLLED FROM

                                                             "DIVIDE."  IN SVC: 09/04/18 PER

                                                             GN #4-21.  CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-                                                                         DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF:

                                                             05/08/2021

 

“CI 1” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)            WEST OF CENTRAL ISLIP (CONTROLLED

   FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 12/14/87)

 

“CI 2” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)            EAST OF CENTRAL ISLIP (CONTROLLED

   FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 12/14/87)

 

“CK”                                                  LITTLE NECK (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-

   ICE.)

 

“CM”                                                  CREEDMOOR (NORTH SHORE DIVISION)

                                                             (IN TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK

                                                             OF RULES)

 

“CM” CABIN                                      CENTER MORICHES (IN SVC: 1916 ON S.

                                                             SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF DEPOT.

                                                             GONE FROM ETT OF 05/28/1918)

 

“CN” TOWER                                     CHESTNUT ST. JCT. (AUTUMN AVE.), EAST NEW YORK

                                                             (LOCATED ON SIGNAL BRIDGE ON

                                                             ATLANTIC BRANCH WEST OF RAILROAD

                                                             AVE. AND RAILROAD AVE. STATION AT

                                                             HEMLOCK ST.  FORMERLY TOWER #65.

                                                             CONTROLLED  CONNECTION BETWEEN

                                                             L.I.R.R. AND B.R.T. SYSTEMS DURING

                                                             PERIOD OF JOINT OPERATIONS. RE-

                                                             NAMED "CN" IN 1907. 11 LEVER US&S

                                                             ELECTRIC STYLE "F" MACHINE IN SVC:

                                                             1905. BRT CONNECTION OUT OF SVC:

                                                             1917. INTERLOCKING PLANT REBUILT

                                                             AND 16-LEVER GRS MODEL 2 ALL ELEC-

                                                             TRIC MACHINE IN SVC: 11/1922. STA-

                                                             TION AND STREET RENAMED AUTUMN

                                                             AVE., AND TOWER RENAMED “AUTUMN”

                                                             PER G.O. #624 EFF: 4/15/37.  (SEE:

                                                             "AUTUMN" TOWER)

                                                            

“CO”                                                  CORONA (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“CO” CABIN                                       CORONA (TEMPORARY CABIN ACCOUNT

                                                             GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.  US&S

                                                             3 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN

                                                             SVC:  5/8/1930.  OUT OF SVC: 

                                                             10/17/1930.)

 

“COREY” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       EAST OF HUNTINGTON (CONTROLLED

                                                             FROM "DIVIDE" IN SVC: 5/22/62.

   OUT OF SVC: 6/26/72.  NAMED AFTER

   RETIRED ENGINEER BENJAMIN C. COREY

   per The Long Island Railroader:  10/11/61.

   BECAME “HUNT 3” LOCATION.)

 

“CP” CABIN                                       CENTRAL ISLIP (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS 

   AND WEST OF STATION. LISTED IN

   ETT OF 5/14/1916.  GONE FROM ETT

   OF 6/28/1916.  CALL LETTERS MOUNT-

   ED ON CABIN BUT NEVER PLACED IN

   SVC. LOADED ON FLATCAR AND RELO-

   CATED TO CAMP UPTON JCT: 1916. RE-

   NAMED “WC” CABIN.  AGENT AT CEN-

   TRAL ISLIP PAID EXTRA TO HANDLE “CI”

   BLOCK IN TICKET OFFICE.  Per George G.

   Ayling, Block Opr. At  “CI”: 1910-1923,

   Agent/Opr: 1923-1954.)

 

“CP”                                                   CENTRAL PARK (LATER: BETHPAGE)

                                                             (BLOCK HANDLED AT STA: 8/1918 UN-

                                                             TIL 8/1925. FORMERLY “PK”)

 

“CR”                                                  EAST OF GARDEN CITY (CENTRAL EXTEN-

                                                             SION) (7,875’ EAST OF “HC” INTERLOCK-

                                                             ING STATION.  POSSIBLY NAMED FOR

                                                             PROXIMITY TO CLINTON ROAD: Dave

                                                             Keller, CURTIS ENGINEERING, SIDING

                                                             FOR WHICH WAS AT THE CABIN’S LOCA-

                                                             TION: Richard Makse, OR LONG ISLAND

                                                             MOTOR PARKWAY CONNECTING ROAD

                                                             WHICH WAS IN THE SAME VICINITY: Art

                                                             Huneke]  TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION

                                                             IN SVC: 9/6/1930 POSSIBLY FOR MEAD-

             OWBROOK COUNTRY CLUB POLO TOUR-

             NAMENT.  OUT OF SVC:  9/13/1930.)

 

“CS”                                                   COLD SPRING (1903 CR4) (LATER: COLD

                                                             SPRING HARBOR) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“CT” TOWER                                     CARLTON AVE., BKLYN (BUILT INTO THE

                                                             WALL ON THE S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND

                                                             W. OF CARLTON AVE. YARD ENTRANCE.

                                                             IN SVC: 7/10/1906.  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             12/16/1907.)

 

“CU”                                                  STONE HOUSE CURVE – WEST WOODSIDE

                                                             AREA (SUNNYSIDE) (IN SVC: BY 1907)

 

 “CU” CABIN                                      CAMP UPTON JCT. – JCT. OF CAMP

   UPTON SPUR WITH MAIN LINE. (IN SVC:

   3/14/44 SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS,

   OPPOSITE JCT. OF WEST LEG OF WYE

   [EASTWARD FACING POINT SWITCH OF

   CAMP UPTON BRANCH]. BLOCK STA-

   TION, BLOCK LIMIT STATION AND RE-

   LATED SIGNALS OUT OF SVC:  10/2/44

   PER G.O. #612.  STILL ON-SITE IN 1964

   IN USE AS “T” BOX.  MOVED TO PRI-

   VATE PROPERTY AS TOOL SHED.)

 

“CV” CABIN                                       CENTERVILLE AVE., OZONE PARK (500’

                                                             WEST OF SIGNAL BRIDGE 93 ON N.

                                                             SIDE OF TRACKS, TEMPORARY CABIN

                                                             ACCOUNT OZONE PARK GRADE CROS-

                                                             SING ELIMINATION. US&S 9 LEVER

                                                             STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC:

                                                             5/5/1930. OUT OF SVC:  3/25/1931.)

 

“CY” TOWER                                     CYPRESS AVE., RIDGEWOOD TROLLEY

                                                             CROSSING –BAY RIDGE/MANHATTAN

                                                             BEACH BRANCH (8 LEVER MECHANICAL

                                                             MACHINE. IN SVC:  3/14/1895 OR

                                                             8/15/1895 (?). FORMERLY  TOWER 71. 

                                                             RENAMED: 1907.  OUT OF SVC:  1914

                                                             ACCOUNT GRADE CROSSING ELIMIN-

                                                             ATION.)

 

TOWER “D” (PRR)                             EAST SIDE OF PENNSYLVANIA STATION,

                                                             NY, NY. 71-LEVER INTERLOCKING

                                                             MACHINE IN SVC:  09/1910 (?).  RE-

                                                             NAMED "JO" OR "KN"?? 19_?_.  OUT OF

                                                             SVC:  _?_

 

“D”                                                     FRESH POND JUNCTION (SOUTHERN

                                                              DIVISION) (07/15/1878 BOOK OF

                                                               RULES)

 

“D”                                                     BUSHWICK JUNCTION (1903 CR4)

 

“D” CABIN: 1                                     DOUGLASTON DRAWBRIDGE (SWING-

   BRIDGE) OVER LITTLE NECK CREEK.

   (BRIDGE BUILT 1894.  BRIDGE TEND-

   ER'S CABIN ON S. SIDE OF TRACKS

   BUILT ON RECLAIMED W. EDGE OF

   CREEK.  GAUNTLET TRACK AND

   BLOCK OFFICE WITH 4-LEVER S&F

   MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:

   09/01/1911 – 03/07/1923)

 

“D” CABIN: 2                                     DOUGLASTON DRAWBRIDGE (SWING-

   BRIDGE) OVER LITTLE NECK CREEK.

   (BRIDGE REPLACED WITH DOUBLE

   TRACK SPAN.  BRIDGE TENDER'S

   CABIN AND BLOCK OFFICE RELO-

   CATED TO N. SIDE OF TRACKS, ON

   E. SIDE OF CREEK.  IN SVC:

   03/07/1923-1926. 4-LEVER S&F

   MECHANICAL MACHINE.  AFTER 1926,

   BECAME BRIDGE TENDER’S CABIN

   ONLY. RENAMED “DOUGLASTON

   DRAWBRIDGE” IN ETT's.  PER ROBT.

   EMERY DATA,  CABIN REMOVED: 

   1950)  

 

"DANCH" INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       1ST INTERLOCKING EAST OF PINELAWN

                                                             STATION, 1ST INTERLOCKING WEST OF

                                                             WYANDANCH STATION (CONTROLLED

                                                             FROM "DIVIDE."  IN SVC: 09/10/2018

                                                             PER GN #4-23. CONTROLLED FROM

                                                             "JCC-DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF:

                                                             05/08/2021

 

“DB” TOWER                                     DUTCH KILLS DRAW BRIDGE OVER

             DUTCH KILLS CREEK, L. I. CITY (N. SIDE   

             OF MONTAUK BRANCH TRACKS AND W.

             OF THE CREEK. FORMERLY TOWER #2: 2. 

             8 LEVER SAXBY & FARMER MECHANICAL

             MACHINE IN SVC: 1892.  MOVED TO N.

             SIDE OF TRACKS WITH ENLARGEMENT

             OF NORTH YARD AND INSTALLATION OF

             CONNECTION TO DOCK YARD:  1903-04. 

             29 LEVER UNION S & S MODEL 14 ELEC-

             TRIC MACHINE IN SVC: 10/12/1905.  RE-

             NAMED “DB”:  1907. OUT OF SVC:

             10/1915 [per Bob Emery’s maps] GONE

             FROM ETT OF 5/1916.)

 

“DB” CABIN                                       DUTCH KILLS DRAW BRIDGE - L.I. CITY

                                                             (8-LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE

   IN SVC: 10/1915 ON N. SIDE OF MON-

   TAUK BRANCH TRACKS AND E. OF

   DRAWBRIDGE [SWING BRIDGE] OVER

   DUTCH KILLS CREEK.)

 

“DE”                                                  LONG ISLAND CITY (GONE BETWEEN1925

   AND1929)

 

“DEER” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)         WEST OF DEER PARK AT START OF DOU-

                                                              BLE  TRACK EASTBOUND (CONTROLLED

                                                              FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 9/14/87 WITH

                                                              INTENTION TO BE NAMED “DEER” BUT

                                                              NAMED “JS” AFTER JIMMY SULLIVAN,

                                                              LIRR SR. VICE PRESIDENT-ADMINISTR-

                                                              ATION. REFERRED TO AS BOTH “JS”

                                                              AND DEER” INTERLOCKING ON LIRR

                                                              INTERLOCKING DIAGRAM DATED

                                                              3/1/88 (Data courtesy of Jeff Erlitz)

 

“DF” TOWER: 1                                 FRESH POND JCT (EAST OF FRESH POND

   STA. - S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF

   JUNCTION.  IN SERVICE: 1883 – 1917. 

   FORMERLY TOWER #8. INCREASED TO

   20 LEVER JOHNSON STYLE "A" MACH-

   INE BY 1912. OUT OF SVC: 12/01/1917.)

 

“DF” TOWER: 2                                 EAST OF FRESH POND STA. (OPENED:

   12/01/1917 ON N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND

   WEST OF N.Y. INTERCONNECTING R.R.

   TRESTLE. 36 LEVER GRS/S&F IM-

   PROVED MECHANICAL MACHINE. RE-

   NAMED “POND” PER G.O. #603/625 EFF:

   4/22/37.)

 

“DIVIDE” TOWER: 1                          HICKSVILLE (PREVIOUSLY “HX”, “HN”     

                                                             TOWERS) (PORT JEFFERSON BRANCH

   AND MAIN LINE DIVIDE AT JUNCTION.

   LOCATED BETWEEN LEGS OF WYE,

   EAST OF STATION. SAXBY & FARMER 48

   LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  RE-

   NAMED: 4/23/37. 17 LEVER US&S B30

   MACHINE FOR EXPANSION OF INTER- 

   LOCKING TO THE WEST IN SVC: 

  07/28/59.  US&S 9 STATION TRAF-

   FIC CONTROL CENTER CONTROL PANEL

   FOR CONTROL OF PORT JEFFERSON

   BRANCH INTERLOCKINGS IN SVC: 

   10/7/61. TOWER MOVED 50' EAST TO

   MAKE ROOM FOR CONSTRUCTION OF

   NEW TOWER (Henry Wilhelm data re:

   moving).  OLD TOWER OUT OF SVC: 

   11/13/62 WITH GRADE ELIMINATION.

 

“DIVIDE” TOWER: 2                          HICKSVILLE (NEW TOWER BUILT DIRECT-

                                                             LY IN FRONT OF RELOCATED OLD TOW-

                                                             ER DURING GRADE ELIMINATION. 

                                                             US&S 15 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-

                                                             MECHANICAL MACHINE. IN SVC: 

                                                             11/13/62.  OUT OF SVC:  9/12/64. 

                                                             TRANS-CONTROL 19 LEVER CONTROL

                                                             PANEL IN SVC:  9/12/64. US&S 14

                                                             STATION TRAFFIC CONTROL CENTER

                                                             CONTROL PANEL IN SVC:  9/12/64.

                                                             REPLACED 04/30/2000.  TOWER

                                                             PLACED OUT OF SERVICE AND BLOCK

                                                             OPR. RELOCATED TO JCC AND WILL

                                                             BE ADDRESSED AS "JCC-DIVIDE" PER

                                                             G.N. #6-70, EFF. 05/08/2021. )

 

"DIVIDE" INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-DIVIDE" PER

                                                             G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

“DK” :1                                              DEER PARK (1903 CR4) (TRAIN ORDER

                                                             OFFICE IN TICKET OFFICE.  BLOCK

                                                             OFFICE IN SVC:  5/28/1918 PER ETT #87.

   UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL

   IN SVC:  5/23/1928 PERMISSIVE BLOCK

   ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS: 

   6/25/1928.  BLOCK STATION TEMPORA-

   RILY RELOCATED S. SIDE OF TRACKS

   AND 238’  WEST OF DEER PARK AVE.

   FOR GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.

   SAME DAY TEMPORARY TRACKS IN SVC.

   VIA SHOO-FLY PER G.O. 503B/506C EFF:

   8/25/36.   

 

“DK” : 2                                             DEER PARK  (IN NEW TICKET OFFICE. 

   BLOCK STATION RELOCATED TO N.

   SIDE OF TRACKS, 901’ EAST OF FORM-

   ER LOCATION PER G.O. 613C, EFF:

   12/17/36 WITH COMPLETION OF

   GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION. 

   BLOCK SIGNALS RELOCATED SAME

   DAY NORTH OF FORMER LOCATION

   AND ON EMBANKMENT.  2-LEVER

   US&S MODEL 6 ELECTRICAL LOCKED

   SEMAPHORE INDICATORS AND CIRCUIT

   CONTROLLERS IN SVC:  1/26/37.  UNAT-

   TENDED BLOCK AND BLOCK LIMIT STA-

   TION IN SVC. AT SAME TIME.  OUT OF

   SVC:  9/14/87 WITH ELECTRIFICATION

   PROJECT.

 

“DOUGLASTON DRAWBRIDGE”       DOUGLASTON ON DRAWBRIDGE (FORM-

   ERLY “D” CABIN: 2.  SAXBY & FARMER 4

   LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  OUT

   OF SVC:  1926.  DRAWBRIDGE UNAT-

   TENDED:  01/28/32.  AGAIN IN SVC: 

     ? .  INTERLOCKING AND INTERLOCK-
   ING STATION OUT OF SVC:  7/6/48. 

   CABIN RAZED: 1950.)

 

“DRAW” TOWER                                ON SWING BRIDGE (INCORRECTLY REF-

   ERRED TO AS “DRAWBRIDGE” - BEACH

   CHANNEL - HAMMEL.  PREVIOUSLY “HJ”

   TOWER, TOWER 101) WEST SIDE OF

   TRACKS AND SOUTH OF CHANNEL.  

   16-LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE

   IN SVC:  1894. 4-LEVER US&S MODEL TC

   TABLE MACHINE IN SVC. TO CONTROL

   BROAD CHANNEL DRAWBRIDGE

   [SWINGBRIDGE] AFTER CLOSING OF

   FORMER “BC” CABIN LOCATED ON

   THE BROAD CHANNEL SWING BRIDGE: 

    ? .  RENAMED: 5/01/37.  DESTROYED

   BY TRAIN DERAILMENT: 01/03/46 AND

   DEMOLISHED.  REPLACED BY “DRAW”

   CABIN:1.)

 

“DRAW” CABIN:  1                            ON SWING BRIDGE - BEACH CHANNEL-

                                                             HAMMEL (WEST SIDE OF TRACKS AND

                                                             SOUTH OF CHANNEL. REPLACED "DRAW"

                                                             TOWER.  IN SVC:  1946. US&S 7 LEVER

                                                             STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE. OUT OF

                                                             SVC:  5/23/50 AND RELOCATED TO

                                                             SOUTH OF HAMMEL WYE ON ELEVATED

                                                             VIADUCT PER G. O. #1728.)

 

“DRAW” CABIN:  2                            HAMMEL – (RELOCATED INSIDE EAST

   END OF FAR ROCKAWAY LEG OF WYE

   ON ELEVATED VIADUCT:  5/23/50.

   [APPROX. LOCATION OF FORMER “HU”

   TOWER WHEN AT GRADE] IN SVC: 

   5/23/50. US&S 4 LEVER STYLE TC

   TABLE MACHINE. SWITCHES HAND-

   THROWN AND SIGNALS OPERATED

   FROM RELAY CASES IN THE 5-DAY IN-

   TERIM per Art Huneke.  OUT OF SVC:

   10/3/55 WITH END OF LIRR SERVICE.

   CABIN STILL STANDING AS LATE AS

   9/6/62 per Dick Makse)

 

“DU”                                                  DOUGLASTON (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-

   ICE.)

 

“DUKE” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)         EAST OF NORTHPORT (REMOTE FROM

   “DIVIDE”. IN SVC: 5/15/63. NAMED AFT-

   ER RETIRED CONDUCTOR HENRY L.

   DUKE per The Long Island Railroader:

   10/11/61.  OUT OF SVC: 10/3/77.  BE-

   CAME “DUKE 1” LOCATION)

 

“DUKE 1” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)      EAST OF NORTHPORT (REMOTE FROM

                                                             “DIVIDE.” FORMERLY “DUKE.” IN SVC:

                                                             10/3/77.  CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-

                                                             DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

“DUKE 2” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)      EAST OF NORTHPORT (REMOTE FROM

                                                             “DIVIDE.” FORMERLY “EVANS.” IN SVC:

                                                             10/3/77. CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-

                                                             DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

“DUNTON” TOWER                           MORRIS PARK SHOPS (MAURE AVE.)

                                                                            (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS, EAST OF

                                                             MORRIS PARK SHOPS AND WEST OF

   MONTAUK BRANCH CUT-OFF. DIAGON-

                                                             ALLY ACROSS FROM DUNTON STATION.

   FORMERLY  “MP” TOWER.  35-LEVER

   US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC

   MACHINE. IN SVC:  1/20/1914.  RE-

   NAMED: 4/23/37. SIGNAL SYSTEM UP-

   GRADED:  10/23-24/2010. TOWER OUT

   OF SVC:  10/24/2010.  REMOTE CON-

   TROLLED FROM “JCC”.  BLDG. USED

   BY M of E AND M of W PERSONNEL)

 

"DUNTON" INTERLOCKING (R.C.)     REMOTE CONTROLLED FROM "JCC"

                                                             WHEN "DUNTON" TOWER CLOSED ON

                                                             10/24/2010

 

“DW”  TOWER                                    WEST WOODSIDE (PREVIOUSLY TOWER

   #33. RENAMED IN 1907)

 

“DY”                                                   SHEEPSHEAD BAY STATION (1903 CR4)

                                                             (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“E” CABIN                                         YARD OFFICE – ROCKAWAY PARK (SUMMER

   POSITION. OUT OF SERVICE: 6/1929)

 

“EA”                                                   EASTPORT STATION (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

                                                             OFFICE.)

 

“EAST NEW YORK” TOWER              EAST NEW YORK (IN SVC: 12/28/42 PER

                                                             G.O. #308C  IN ETT #3 EFF: 09/20/42)

   US&S 11 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-

   MECHANICAL MACHINE.  TOWER UNDER-

   GROUND. IN LAST YEARS WAS MANNED

   ONLY DURING SPECIAL MOVES.  OUT OF

   SVC: 9/2001)

 

“EAST NEW YORK” INTERLKNG.      EAST NEW YORK (IN SVC: 2001 ? CON-)

(R.C.)                                                    TROLLED FROM “BROOK”)

 

“EC” TOWER                                     GOOSE CREEK ON ROCKAWAY BEACH BR.

                                                             (W. SIDE OF TRACKS AND 700’ EAST OF

   STATION, LOCATED ON JAMAICA BAY

   TRESTLE. FORMERLY TOWER #94. USED

   DURING SUMMERS ONLY.  OUT OF SVC:

   19 ? )

 

“EG”                                                  ELDERT’S GROVE (HAMMELS) (IN TICKET

                                                              OFFICE: 07/04/1872.)  (SOUTHERN

                                                              DIVISION IN 07/15/1878 BOOK OF

                                                               RULES) (OUT OF SERVICE: 1887)

 

“EG”                                                  EDGEMERE (SUMMER ONLY PER 1903

                                                             CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“EM”                                                  EAST MORICHES (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

                                                              OFFICE.)

 

“EN”                                                   EAST NEW YORK (IN TICKET OFFICE)

                                                             (07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES)

 

“EP”                                                   ISLIP (TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION AC-

                                                             COUNT GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION

                                                             OF CARLETON AVE. [ROUTE 111].  N.

                                                             SIDE OF TRACKS AT E. END OF SINGLE

                                                             TRACK. IN SVC:  11/30/1931.  USED IN

                                                             CONJUNCTION WITH “WP” TEMPORARY

                                                             BLOCK STATION.  OUT OF SVC: 

                                                             4/26/32.)

 

“ER” TOWER                                     THE RAUNT ON JAMAICA BAY TRESTLE

                                                             (1,300’ EAST OF THE RAUNT STATION)

                                                             (IN SVC: BY 1906.  IN USE DURING SUM-

                                                             MERS ONLY. FORMERLY TOWER #96)  

 

“EVANS” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)        EAST OF NORTHPORT (REMOTE FROM

   “DIVIDE.”  IN SVC: 5/15/63.  NAMED AFT-

   ER THE LATE TRAIN DISPATCHER THOM-

   AS B. EVANS per The Long Island Railroad-

   er: 10/11/61.  OUT OF SVC:  10/3/77. 

   BECAME “DUKE 2” LOCATION.)

 

"EW"                                                  NEWTOWN (IN TICKET OFFICE) (ETT #11

                                                             EFF. 11/08/1874)

 

“EW”                                                  EAST WILLISTON (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

                                                             OFFICE)

 

“EX” TOWER                                     FLATBUSH AVE. EXPRESS YARD (IN SVC.

   BY 1907 ON S. SIDE OF TRACKS TO

   CONTROL THE 8 EXPRESS TRACKS AT

   THE TERMINAL.  11 LEVER US&S MODEL

   14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN

   SVC:  3/1908.  OUT OF SERVICE:

   4/28/23. DUTIES HANDLED BY “FT”

   TOWER.)

 

"F"                                                     BRENTWOOD (IN TICKET OFFICE) (ETT #11

                                                             EFF. 11/08/1874)  ("BR" IN 1878)

 

“F”                                                     MASTIC (FORGE) (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

   OFFICE.  2-LEVER G.R.S. MECHANICAL

   MACHINE IN SVC:  5/28/1926.  UNAT-

   TENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN

   SVC: 5/23/1928.  RENAMED  “MS”:

   6/25/39)

 

“F” TOWER (PRR)                              THOMPSON (THOMSON) AVE., L. I. CITY.

                                                             (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS, WEST OF

                                                             THOMPSON AVE. 47 LEVER US&S

   MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC

   MACHINE. IN SVC:  9/1910.  OUT OF

   SVC: 1995. RAZED: SPRING/2005.)

 

“F” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)                 L. I. CITY, NY, 3.0 MILES EAST OF PENN

                                                             STATION (CONTROLLED FROM PSCC. 

                                                             IN SVC: 1995)

 

“FAIR”                                                MINEOLA (FORMERLY “MT TOWER: 2.” 

                                                             RENAMED: 4/23/37 ACCOUNT PROXIM-

                                                             ITY OF THE MINEOLA FAIRGROUNDS. 

                                                             RENAMED: “NASSAU”:  9/18/38,

                                                             PROBABLY DUE TO THE PENDING

                                                             OPENING OF "FAIR" CABIN AT THE NY

                                                             WORLD'S FAIR 7 MONTHS LATER).

 
“FAIR” CABIN                                    FLUSHING MEADOWS (N. SIDE OF TRACKS
   AND W. OF THE N. Y. WORLD'S FAIR STA-
   TION PLATFORM.  TEMPORARY BLOCK
   STATION FOR N.Y. WORLD’S FAIR.  US&S
   17 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE.  IN
   SVC: 4/24/39 TO 11/4/39 AND AGAIN
   FROM 5/6/40 TO 11/4/40.)

 

“FAIR” CABIN                                    FLUSHING MEADOWS (S. SIDE OF TRACKS.

                                                             TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION FOR N.Y.

                                                             WORLD’S FAIR.  10 LEVER TRANSCON-

                                                             TROL MINI-LEVER CONTROL PANEL  IN

                                                             SVC: 4/16/64.  CONSTRUCTED WITH

                                                             WIDE, GLASS, BAY WINDOW ON WEST

                                                             SIDE TO ALLOW FAIR VISITORS TO VIEW

                                                             BLOCK OPERATOR AT WORK.  SIGN

                                                             ATOP WINDOWS READ "COME SEE HOW

                                                             WE RUN OUR RAILROAD."  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             11/8/65)

 

"FARM" INTERLOCKING (R.C.)          FORMERLY "FARM 1."  (CONTROLLED

                                                             FROM "DIVIDE."  RENAMED":

                                                             09/04/2018 PER GN  #4-21. CON-

                                                             TROLLED FROM "JCC-DIVIDE" PER

                                                             G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

 

“FARM 1” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)      EAST OF FARMINGDALE (CONTROLLED

   FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 6/15/87) RE-

   NAMED "FARM" 09/04/2018 PER GN

                                                             #4-21. CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-DIVIDE"

                                                             PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

 

“FARM 2” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)      EAST OF FARMINGDALE (CONTROLLED

   FROM “DIVIDE.”) FORMERLY “PW” TEMP-

   ORARY BLOCK STATION.  REDESIGNAT-

   ED “FARM 2”:  9/14/87.  RENAMED

                                                             "PW" 09/04/2018 PER GN #4-21. CON-                                                                        TROLLED FROM "JCC-DIVIDE" PER

                                                             G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

 

"FAR ROCKAWAY"                            BLOCK STATION IN SVC:  7/20/85 (PER

                                                             G.O. #405) CONTROLLED FROM "VAL-

                                                             LEY"

 

“FB” CABIN                                       FARMINGDALE (NEAR W. END OF S.

   SIDING.  IN SVC:  6/24/1909 PER G.O.

   #82. FOR MANUAL BLOCK.  USED IN

   CONJUNCTION WITH “CD” CABIN AND

   “HX” TOWER.  GONE BY 1911 ETT

   WHEN MANUAL BLOCK NO LONGER IN

   EFFECT ON MAIN LINE EAST OF “HX”.)

 

"FD"                                                   FLUSHING (IN TICKET OFFICE) (ETT #11
                                                             EFF. 11/08/1874)
 
“FD”                                                   FARMINGDALE (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-
                                                             ICE.)

 

“FH”                                                   FLATBUSH AVE. FREIGHT HOUSE (CARL-

                                                             TON AVE. YARD) (1903 CR4)

 

“FK” TOWER: 1                                 FLORAL PARK - JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD AND

                                                             CREEDMOOR BRANCHES WITH MAIN

   LINE. (WOOD STRUCTURE BUILT 1909,

   NORTH SIDE OF MAIN LINE TRACKS AND

   EAST OF TULIP AVENUE. JOHNSON 32

   LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE. OUT OF

   SVC: 1924.)

 

“FK” TOWER: 2                                 FLORAL PARK (BRICK STRUCTURE SOUTH

   SIDE OF TRACKS, EAST OF TULIP AVE.

   AND EAST OF THE JCT. WHEN MAIN LINE

   WAS WIDENED TO 4 TRACKS AS FAR AS

   FLORAL PARK.  27-LEVER US&S MODEL

   14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN

   SVC:  1924.  RENAMED “PARK” PER G.O.

   #603/625 EFF: 4/23/37.)

 

“FLUSHING AVE. TROLLEY XING”    FLUSHING AVE. AND TROLLEY CROSSING

                                                              OF BUSHWICK BRANCH (N. SIDE OF

                                                              TRACKS AND W. OF FLUSHING AVE. 

                                                              (3 LEVER DWARF GROUND FRAME

                                                               MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:

                                                               11/26/1895 CONTROLLING 2 RAIL-

                                                              ROAD SIGNALS AND 2 TROLLEY

                                                              DERAILS. OUT OF SVC: 11/04/41. 

                                                              STOP-BOARDS REPLACED THE SIG-

                                                              NALS. Per Art Huneke’s website)

 

FLUSHING DRAW BRIDGE               INSTALLED AT E. END OF BRIDGE ON

      (SWING BRIDGE)                             PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH AFTER

                                                              "JC" TOWER (WHITESTONE JCT./COR-

                                                              ONA JCT.), WHICH CONTROLLED THE

                                                              BRIDGE, WAS TAKEN OUT OF SERVICE

                                                              WITH ABANDONMENT OF WHITESTONE

                                                              BRANCH ON 02/19/32.  RENAMED

                                                              "CANAL." (US&S 6 LEVER STYLE TC

                                                              TABLE MACHINE IN SVC: 07/13/38

                                                              FOR TEMPORARY USE DURING

                                                              SEWER CONSTRUCTION FOR N.Y.

                                                              WORLD'S FAIR.)  (SEE: "CANAL")

 

“FM”                                                  ROSEDALE (FOSTER’S MEADOW) (1903

                                                             CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“FN” CABIN                                       FRESH POND JCT. – JCT. OF MONTAUK

   BRANCH WITH BAY RIDGE BRANCH.

   (E. SIDE OF TRACKS AND S. OF FRE-

   MONT ST., RIDGEWOOD.  IN SVC:

   1/17/1918 THRU 9/10/1927)

 

“FN” TOWER                                     FRESH POND JCT. – JCT. OF MONTAUK

   BRANCH WITH N.Y. CONNECTING R.R.

   (EX-BAY RIDGE BRANCH) (E. SIDE OF

   TRACKS AND S. OF FREMONT ST. 23  

   LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMAT-

   IC MACHINE. IN SERVICE: 9/10/1927. 

   RENAMED “FREMONT” PER G.O.

   #603/625 EFF: 4/22/37)

 

“FOREST”                                          FOREST HILLS (TEMPORARY BLOCK STA-

                                                             TION IN SVC: 4/23/55.  REASON?  OUT

                                                             OF SVC: 4/23/55.  AGAIN IN SVC:

                                                             9/21/63 FOR BRIDGE REPLACEMENT 

                                                             (Dick Makse data).  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             9/21/63)

 

“FOX” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)            WEST OF KINGS PARK (REMOTE FROM

   “DIVIDE.”  IN SVC: 12/20/63.  NAMED

   AFTER RETIRED CONDUCTOR WALTER

   FOX per the Long Island Railroader: 

   10/11/61.  NAMED AFTER RETIRED

   FREIGHT TRAINMASTER JOE FOX AND

   CONDR. WALTER FOX per W. S. Boerckel.     

   OUT OF SVC:  10/3/77.  “FOX 1” LOCA-

   TION)

 

“FOX 1” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)         WEST OF KINGS PARK (REMOTE FROM

                                                             “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 10/3/77.  FORMERLY

                                                             “FOX.”  CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-DIVIDE"

                                                             PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

“FOX 2” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)         EAST OF KINGS PARK (REMOTE FROM

                                                             “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 10/3/77.  FORMERLY

                                                             “GREEN.” CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-

                                                             DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

“FP” TOWER:1                                    FLORAL PARK - JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD AND

                                                             CREEDMOOR BRANCHES WITH MAIN

   LINE. (ORIGINALLY TOWER 43:1, THEN

   TOWER #47. RENAMED:  1907.  CALLS

   INDICATED ON LIRR JOB POSTINGS LIST

   OF 9/20/1907.  RAZED: 1909 ALONG

   WITH DEPOT BUILDING WHICH IT

   SHARED.  REPLACED BY FREE-STAND-

   ING “FK” TOWER: 1909.)

 

“FR”                                                   FREEPORT (SOUTHERN DIVISION) (IN

                                                              TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK OF

                                                              RULES AND 1903 CR4)

 

“FR” CABIN                                       FARMINGDALE (IN SVC:  6/24/1909 PER

                                                              G.O. #82)

 

“FREMONT” TOWER                         FRESH POND JCT., QUEENS– JCT. OF MON-

                                                             TAUK BRANCH WITH N.Y. CONNECTING

                                                             R.R. (EX-BAY RIDGE BRANCH) (E. SIDE

   OF TRACKS AND S. OF THEN-EXISTENT

   FREMONT ST. PREVIOUSLY “FN” TOWER.

   23-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-

   PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  8/1927.

   RENAMED: 4/22/37.  2-LEVER US&S

   STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE TO CONTROL

   “BAY” AND “BEDFORD” INTERLOCKINGS

   IN SVC:  4/4/66.  “FREMONT”, “BAY” AND

   “BEDFORD” INTERLOCKINGS OUT OF

   SVC: 4/15/70.  INTERLOCKING AND

   TRACKS BETWEEN “FREMONT” AND BAY

   RIDGE UNDER JURISDICTION OF PENN

   CENTRAL TRANSPORTATION CO.: 

   1/20/71. OUT OF SVC: 10/28/71. TOW-

   ER ABANDONED.  BURNED AND RAZED:

   PRIOR TO 1995. [per Jim Minor, LIRR block

   opr.])

 

“FT” TOWER                                      FLATBUSH AVE. (UNDERGROUND: E. END

   OF STATION PLATFORM BETWEEN

   TRACKS 4 AND 5.  29 LEVER US&S MOD-

   EL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE

   IN SVC: 1906.  REPLACED BY 35-LEVER

   US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC

   MACHINE IN SVC:  04/28/1923.  RE-

   NAMED “BROOK” PER G.O. #624 EFF:

   4/15/37) 

 

“FU”                                                   CORONA (NORTH SHORE DIVISION) (IN

                                                                                                   TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK OF

                                                             RULES AND 1903 CR4)

 

“FW” TOWER                                     FAR ROCKAWAY (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS

   AND EAST OF STATION.  40 LEVER           

   JOHNSON STYLE "A" MACHINE IN SVC:

   06/18/1907.  REBUILT WITH 32 LEVER

   GRS/SAXBY & FARMER MACHINE.

   IN SVC: 11/01/1919.  RENAMED

   “ROCK” PER G.O. #628 EFF:  5/11/37.)

 

"FX” TOWER                                      FAIRVIEW AVE., HAMMEL(S) (X REPRE-

                                                             SENTED A JCT. OR CROSSING OF

                                                             TRACKS BY TRACKS)  (INSIDE WEST

                                                             END OF WYE, AT WEST STATION

                                                             PLATFORM. JOHNSON STYLE "A"

                                                             16 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.

                                                             IN SVC: 4/19/1907.  OUT OF SVC.

                                                             FOR THE WINTER: 10/10/1922. 

   PERMANENTLY OUT OF SVC:

   04/20/1925 AND RAZED)

 

“FY”                                                   NEW YORK 34TH ST. FERRY - FACILITY

                                                             "NY1" (1903 CR4)

 

“FY” CABIN                                        FREEPORT (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E.

   OF STATION AND S. MAIN ST. 4 LEVER

   S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE.  IN SVC:

   1908 TO PROTECT CROSSING OF LIRR

   TRACKS BY NY & LI TRACTION CO. OUT

   OF SVC:  12/12/26 WITH OPENING OF

   “FY” TOWER.  CABIN CONTINUED IN

   USE TO OPERATE CROSSING GATES.

   OUT OF SVC. WITH GRADE CROSSING

   ELIMINATION: 1959.)

 

“FY” TOWER                                      FREEPORT (OPENED: 12/12/1926, S. SIDE

   OF TRACKS AND .3 MILES EAST OF STA-

   TION. S&F 24 LEVER MECHANICAL

   MACHINE. RENAMED “PORT” PER G.O.

   #627 EFF: 4/30/37.)

 

“G”                                                     GARDEN CITY (NORTH SHORE DIVISION)

                                                             (IN TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK

                                                             OF RULES AND 1903 CR4). BLOCK STA-

                                                             TION REMOVED FROM TICKET OFFICE: 

                                                             10/1/1907.  BLOCK HANDLED BY “HC”

                                                             TOWER EAST OF DEPOT.) 

 

“G”                                                     GREAT NECK (IN TICKET OFFICE. BLOCK

                                                              OFFICE IN SVC: 1/19/35. 7 LEVER

                                                              US&S 7 MODEL TC TABLE MACHINE. 

                                                              RENAMED “GREAT NECK” PER G.O.

                                                               #603/625 EFF: 4/22/37.) 

                                                             

“G” CABIN: 1                                     GREAT NECK (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND

   E. OF STATION.  2 LEVER DWARF

   GROUND FRAME IN SVC: 05/27/1911. 

   OUT OF SVC: 1926.

 

“G” CABIN: 2                                     GREAT NECK (BLOCK STATION IN SVC: 

   6/8/34 ACCOUNT GRADE CROSSING

   ELIMINATION.  OUT OF SVC:  1/19/35

   WITH COMPLETION OF PROJECT.)

 

“G” TOWER                                       GREAT NECK (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E.

   OF STATION.  SAXBY & FARMER 12 LEV-

   ER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  IN SERVICE:

   1926.  OUT OF SVC:  6/8/34 ACCOUNT

   GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.)

 

“GA”                                                  GLEN HEAD (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-

   ICE.)

 

“GARDEN” TOWER                            HEMPSTEAD CROSSING – GARDEN CITY -

                                                             JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD, CENTRAL AND

   MINEOLA-HEMPSTEAD BRANCHES.

                                                             (FORMERLY “HC” TOWER. NORTHWEST

                                                             QUADRANT OF CROSSING.  SAXBY &

   FARMER 40 LEVER MECHANICAL MACH-

   INE. RENAMED: 4/30/37. OUT OF SVC:

   1/27/39.)

 

“GARDEN” CABIN                              GARDEN CITY – JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD

   BRANCH. NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS,

   WEST SIDE OF FRANKLIN AVE., 650’

   WEST OF FORMER LOCATION.  US&S

   5 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE

   IN SVC: 01/27/39. INCREASED TO 7

   LEVERS:  08/17/42.  OUT OF SVC:                     11/21/93. RAZED: c. 1999-2000.)

 

“GARDEN” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)     GARDEN CITY (CONTROLLED FROM

   “QUEENS.”  IN SVC: 11/21/93. OUT OF

   SVC:  01/11/2020)

 

"GARDEN" INTERLOCKING (R.C.)     GARDEN CITY (CONTROLLED FROM "JCC."

                                                             IN SVC:  01/11/2020.)

 

“GD”                                                  GLEN COVE, GLEN STREET (IN TICKET

                                                             OFFICE) (ETT #11 EFF. 11/08/1874 AND

                                                             1903 CR4)

 

“GE” CABIN                                       GLEN COVE, GLEN ST. (S. SIDE OF

                                                             TRACKS AND E. OF STATION AND ELM

   AVE. IN SERVICE: 1908 FOR END OF

   DOUBLE TRACK.  OUT OF SVC:  1912

   WHEN DOUBLE TRACK EXTENDED TO

   LOCUST VALLEY.)

 

“GI” CABIN                                        ON FAR ROCKAWAY BRANCH EAST OF

   ROOSEVELT AVE, GIBSON.  (US&S 3

   LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN

   SVC:  8/31/32 ACCOUNT VALLEY

   STREAM GRADE CROSSING ELIMINA-

   TION. RELOCATED ON ELEVATION N.

   OF FORMER LOCATION: 2/7/33.  OUT

   OF SVC:  4/30/33.)

 

“GK”                                                  GREAT NECK (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-

                                                             ICE.)

 

“GN”                                                  GREAT NECK (NORTH SHORE DIVISION)

                                                             (IN TICKET OFFICE) (O7/15/1878 BOOK

                                                             OF RULES)

 

“GN”                                                   GREEN PORT (2 WORDS: ETT #11 EFF.

                                                             11/08/1874) (ONE WORD:  07/15/1878

                                                             BOOK OF RULES AND 1903 CR4) (IN

   TICKET OFFICE. BLOCK OFFICE IN SVC:

   5/28/1918 PER ETT #87. RENAMED “GY”

   c. 1920s.  OUT OF SVC: 19 ? )

 

“GR”                                                  GREENLAWN (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFF-

   ICE. MANUAL BLOCK SIGNALS IN SVC:

   9/8/1915 PER ETT #79 (Art Huneke data),

   UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL

   IN SVC:  5/23/1928.  PERMISSIVE

   BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIG-

   NALS:  6/25/1928.  BLOCK STATION OUT

   OF SVC:  12/11/1929.  UNATTENDED

   BLOCK STATION IN SVC. CONTINUOUS-

   LY:  12/11/1929.  BLOCK LIMIT STATION

   SIGNAL RELOCATED 343’ EAST OF FOR-

   MER LOCATION: 4/16/45.  BLOCK LIMIT

   STATION OUT OF SVC: 6/12/49.)

 

“GREAT NECK”                                 GREAT NECK (IN TICKET OFFICE.  7-LEV-

   ER US&S 7 STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN

   SVC:  2/11/35.  REDUCED TO 5-LEVER

   US&S MODEL 14 TABLE MACHINE: _?_.

   OUT OF SVC:  2/21/63.  "TRANS-

   CONTROL" MINI-LEVER CONTROL PAN-

   EL R.C. FROM "HAROLD."  CONTROL

   TRANSFERRED TO JCC AFTER "HAROLD"

   TAKEN OUT OF SERVICE: 07/03/99 )

 

“GREEN” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       EAST OF KINGS PARK (REMOTE FROM

   “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 12/20/63.  NAMED

   AFTER THE LATE ENGINEER FREDERICK

   W. GREEN per the Long Island Railroader:

   10/11/61.  OUT OF SVC: 10/3/77.  BE-

   CAME “FOX 2” LOCATION.)

 

“GREENLAWN”                                  GREENLAWN (TEMPORARY BLOCK STA-

                                                             TION IN SVC:  1/25/63 FOR 2ND TRICK

                                                             ONLY DURING INSTALLATION OF CTC

                                                             TO ASSIST WITH EVENING RUSH HOUR

                                                             TRAIN SERVICE (Dick Makse data).  OUT

                                                             OF SVC:  5/15/63)

 

“GU”                                                  CUTCHOGUE (1903 CR4) (TRAIN ORDER

                                                             OFFICE IN TICKET OFFICE.  BLOCK

                                                             OFFICE IN SVC:  5/28/18 PER ETT #87. 

                                                             OUT OF SERVICE: 9/01/1927.  BLOCK

                                                             LIMIT STATION SIGNAL IN SVC:

                                                             9/01/1927.  OUT OF SVC: 6/12/52.)

 

“GV”                                                  NASSAU, GLEN COVE (1903 CR4) (LATER:

   GLEN COVE) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“GW” TOWER                                    GLENDALE (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E.

                                                             OF COOPER AVE. IN SVC. c. 1903.  FOR-

                                                             MERLY TOWER 9.  RENAMED "GW": 1907

                                                             POSSIBLY DUE TO THE PROXIMITY OF

                                                             GLENDALE WELLS, WHERE THE MON-

                                                             TAUK WATER CO. HAD SOME WELLS, OR,

                                                             JUST ONE OF THOSE INSTANCES WHERE

                                                             ONLY ONE LETTER PERTAINED TO LOCA-

                                                             TION.  CLOSED: 1908)

 

“GY”                                                   GREENPORT (PREVIOUSLY “GN” (IN

   TICKET OFFICE. UNATTENDED BLOCK

   STATION SIGNAL AT ENTRANCE TO

   GREENPORT TERMINAL YARD IN SVC:

   5/23/1928.  BLOCK STATION OUT OF

   SVC: BY 6/43.  BLOCK LIMIT STATION

   SIGNALS IN SVC: BY 6/43. RELOCATED

   1,080’ EAST:  2/19/74.)

 

“GY” CABIN                                       GREENLAWN (IN SERVICE: 1915 – 1916)

 

“H” TOWER                                       HAROLD AVE., L. I. CITY (S. SIDE OF

   TRACKS AND WEST OF HAROLD AVE.  

   47-LEVER U.S. & S. MODEL 14 ELEC-

   TRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC:

   09/01/1910. RENAMED “HAROLD” PER

   G.O. #624 EFF: 4/16/37) (SEE "HAROLD")

 

“HA”                                                  EAST HAMPTON (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

                                                             OFFICE. BLOCK LIMIT STATION IN SVC:

   1927.  OUT OF SVC: 9/17/50.)

 

“HALL” TOWER                                 JAMAICA (PREVIOUSLY “JE” TOWER)

                                                             (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, EAST OF

                                                             STATION. ORIGINAL US&S 71 LEVER

                                                             MACHINE REPLACED BY 83 LEVER

                                                             MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MA-

                                                             CHINE IN SVC:  2/26/1931 AS A RE-

                                                             SULT OF THE JAMAICA EAST IMPROVE-                                                            MENT PROJECT THAT ELIMINATED

                                                             ROCKAWAY JCT., WHICH HAD BEEN

                                                             CONTROLLED BY “JE.” RENAMED:

                                                             4/16/37 ACCOUNT PROXIMITY TO

                                                             UNION HALL STREET. TRANSCON-

                                                             TROL ALL-RELAY PUSH-BUTTON CON-

                                                             TROL PANEL FOR CONTROL OF "HALL

                                                             EAST" IN SVC:  02/26/1989.  SIGNAL

                                                             SYSTEM UPGRADED:  11/6-7/2010.

                                                             TOWER OUT OF SVC:  11/7/2010. 

                                                             REMOTE CONTROLLED FROM “JCC”. 

                                                             BLDG. USED BY M of E AND M of W

                                                             PERSONNEL)

 

"HALL" INTERLOCKING (R.C.)          CONTROLLED FROM "JCC" WHEN "HALL"

                                                             TOWER CLOSED ON 11/07/2010.

 

"HALL EAST"  (R.C.)                          WEST OF THE ELEVATED TRACKS OF

                                                             THE MONTAUK BRANCH AS THEY

                                                             LEAVE THE MAIN LINE WEST OF HILL-

                                                             SIDE.  CONTROLLED FROM "HALL"

                                                             TOWER. IN SVC:  02/26/1989.  OUT

                                                             OF SVC. WHEN "HALL" TOWER CLOSED

                                                             ON 11/07/2010. 

 

“HARE” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)          WEST OF SMITHTOWN (REMOTE FROM

   “DIVIDE.”  NAMED AFTER RETIRED

   CONDUCTOR JAMES HARE per the Long

   Island Railroader:  10/11/61.  IN SVC:

   12/20/63 TO 8/26/71;  9/14/71 TO 

   10/3/77.  BECAME “POST 1” LOCATION.)

 

“HAROLD” TOWER: 1                        HAROLD AVE., L. I. CITY (PREVIOUSLY

                                                             “H” TOWER) (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND

                                                              W. OF HAROLD AVE.  47-LEVER

   U.S. & S. MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEU-

   MATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  1910.  RE-

   NAMED:  4/16/37. 5 LEVER TRANS-

   CONTROL MINI-LEVER CONTROL PAN-

   EL IN SVC:  2/21/63 FOR CONTROL OF

   GREAT NECK INTERLOCKING.  OUT

   OF SVC: 7/90.  DEMOLISHED: 7/1990.)

 

“HAROLD” TOWER: 2                        HAROLD AVE., L. I. CITY (OPENED: 7/90,

   OUT OF SVC: 07/03/99 WHEN CONTROL

   TRANSFERRED TO "PSCC."    

 

“HAROLD” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)     HAROLD AVE., L. I. CITY (CONTROLLED

   FROM "PSCC" IN SVC: 07/03/1999)

 

“HAVEN” TOWER: 1                          WOODHAVEN JCT. – JCT. OF ATLANTIC

   AND ROCKWAY BEACH BRANCHES.

   (PREVIOUSLY “WT”, “WOODHAVEN”

   TOWERS ON ATLANTIC BRANCH.

   SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS WEST OF

   STATION, EAST OF JCT. 32-LEVER

   S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:

   11/01/1922.  RENAMED: 4/15/37.

   OUT OF SVC: 2/29/40 DURING GRADE

   ELIMINATION PROJECT.)

  

“HAVEN”                                            WOODHAVEN JCT. (TEMPORARY BLOCK

                                                             OFFICE RELOCATED 271’ EAST OF FORM-

                                                             ER "HAVEN" TOWER LOCATION.  US&S 6

   LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN

   SVC:  2/29/40.  OUT OF SVC: 12/28/42

   WITH GRADE ELIMINATION. REPLACED

   BY UNDERGROUND “WOODHAVEN”

   TOWER.)

 

“HB” CABIN                                       HOLBAN YARD ON SPRINGFIELD BRANCH,

   HOLLIS (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF

   LINDEN BLVD.  ORIGINALLY “ST. AL-

   BANS.” RENAMED “HB” IN 1907.  RE-

   NAMED “YD”: 1909, CLOSED: 1/1929)

 

“HB” INTERLOCKING  (R.C.)             HOWARD BEACH (CONTROLLED BY

   “BEACH” TOWER DURING AQUEDUCT

   GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION PROJ-

   ECT IN SVC: 11/13/39. OUT OF SVC: 

   9/26/40)

 

“HC” TOWER                                     HEMPSTEAD CROSSING, GARDEN

                                                             CITY – JCT OF HEMPSTEAD BRANCH

   AND N.Y. BAY EXTENSION (PER 1903

   CR4.) (NORTHWEST QUADRANT OF

   CROSSING.  ORIGINALLY TOWER #44, 

   36-LEVER SAXBY & FARMER MECH-

   ANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  1/1890.

   WAS RENUMBERED TOWER #105 IN

   1894 WHEN BLOCK SYSTEM WAS EX-

   TENDED EAST.  TOWER #44 ASSIGNED

   BRUSHVILLE.  RENAMED “HC” IN 1907.

   BECAME TRAIN ORDER OFFICE ON

   10/1/1907 WHEN GARDEN CITY STA-

   TION CEASED BEING A TRAIN ORDER

   OFFICE.  INTERLOCKING PLANT IN-

   CREASED TO 40 LEVERS:  1/28/1919. 

   RENAMED “GARDEN” PER G.O. # 627

   EFF: 4/30/37. OUT OF SVC: 1/27/39.)

 

“HD”                                                  HEMPSTEAD (NORTH SHORE DIVISION)

                                                             (IN TICKET OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK

                                                             OF RULES AND 1903 CR4)

 

"HEMPSTEAD" INTERLOCKING        CONTROLLED FROM "QUEENS": _?_.

                  (R.C.)                                   CONTROLLED FROM "JCC" WHEN

                                                              "QUEENS" TOWER CLOSED ON

                                                              01/11/2020                

 

“HF”                                                   FLUSHING (BRIDGE STREET) (IN TICKET

                                                             OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES

                                                             AND 1903 CR4).  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             02/19/1932 WITH BRANCH ABAND-

                                                             ONMENT.  SIGNAL REMOVED AND

                                                             DEPOT RAZED.

 

“HG”  CABIN                                      HIGBIE AVE., LAURELTON (N. SIDE OF

                                                             TRACKS AND W. OF HIGBIE AVE. IN

                                                             SERVICE: 8/25/1919.  OUT OF SVC: 

   7/6/1923)

 

“HI”                                                    HOLLIS STATION (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

                                                              OFFICE.)

 

“HILLSIDE YARD OFFICE”                HILLSIDE a.k.a. “HOLBAN YARD SWITCH-

   MAN’S CABIN” ON INTERLOCKING DIA-

   GRAMS (US&S 1 LEVER STYLE TC TA-

   BLE MACHINE IN SVC:  2/26/1931.  OUT

   OF SVC: 7/6/71)

 

“HJ” TOWER                                     HAMMEL (BEACH CHANNEL) SWING

   BRIDGE (HAMMEL JCT.) (WEST SIDE OF

   TRACKS AND SOUTH OF CHANNEL.

   FORMERLY TOWER #101.  RENAMED IN

   1907. 16-LEVER S&F MECHANICAL

   MACHINE IN SVC:  1894.  RENAMED

   “DRAW” PER G.O. #627 EFF: 5/1/37.)

 

“HM”                                                  BERLIN SIDING (DUNTON) (1903 CR4)

 

“HM”  TOWER                                    HEMPSTEAD - EAST SIDE OF TRACKS

                                                             AND NORTH OF JACKSON ST. 4 LEVER

                                                             DWARF MACHINE IN SVC:  09/01/1912.

                                                             OUT OF SVC:  4/3/33.                           

 

“HM”                                                  HEMPSTEAD (IN TICKET OFFICE. UNAT-

   TENDED BLOCK STATION AND SIGNAL,

   LOCATED 370’ WEST OF “HM” INTER-

   LOCKING STATION BETWEEN MAIN

   TRACK AND NORTH SIDING, IN SVC: 

   4/3/33.   BLOCK LIMIT STATION OUT

   OF SVC:  8/17/42.  CLOSED: 1943

   WHEN HEMPSTEAD STATION AND

   TRACKS CUT BACK TO W. COLUMBIA

   STREET.)

 

“HN” TOWER                                     HICKSVILLE - JCT. OF PORT JEFFERSON

   BRANCH AND MAIN LINE. (BETWEEN

   LEGS OF WYE, EAST OF STATION. 48

   LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE. 

   FORMERLY “HX” UNTIL 11/23/1928. 

   RENAMED “DIVIDE” PER G.O. #603/625

   EFF: 4/23/37.)

 

“HO” CABIN                                      HORTON AVE., VALLEY STREAM. (US&S

                                                             11 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE

                                                             IN SVC:  8/10/32 ACCOUNT VALLEY

   STREAM GRADE CROSSING ELIMINA-

   TION. OUT OF SVC:  6/27/33.)

 

HOLBAN YARD                                 HOLLIS.  W END OF HOLBAN YARD. 

                                                             (US&S 1 LEVER TC MACHINE IN SVC:

                                                             02/26/1931 UNTIL 07/06/1971.)

 

“HOLLIS” TOWER                              HOLLIS (PREVIOUSLY “IS” TOWER)

   (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AT EAST END

   OF STATION PLATFORM. 32-LEVER

   JOHNSON MECHANICAL MACHINE IN

   SVC:  1905.  RENAMED: 4/23/37.  OUT

   OF SVC: 12/19/57.)

 

“HOLLIS” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       HOLLIS (CONTROLLED FROM “QUEENS.”

   IN SVC: 12/19/57.  CONTROLLED FROM

   "JCC" WHEN "QUEENS" TOWER CLOSED

   ON 01/11/2020.)

 

“HOLTSVILLE”                                  HOLTSVILLE (W.W.I) (LATER “HV”) (IN

   TICKET OFFICE.)

 

"HP"                                                   HUNTER'S POINT (ETT #11 EFF.

                                                             11/08/1874)             

 

“HQ” TOWER                                     HEMPSTEAD TURNPIKE AND TROLLEY

   CROSSING OF MAIN LINE WEST OF

   QUEENS (QUEENS VILLAGE).  (FORMER-

   LY TOWER #44½. IN SVC:  7/1905.  RE-

   NAMED:  1907.  OUT OF SVC:  1/7/1923

   DUE TO GRADE CROSSING ELIMINA-

   TION.)

 

“HQ” CABIN                                      WEST OF ROCKAWAY JUNCTION – HILL-

   SIDE  (GONE BY 1920s)

 

“HS”                                                  HAMMEL STATION (JUNCTION) (1903 CR4)

                                                             (HAMMELS) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“HT”                                                   HEWLETT (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“HU” TOWER                                     HAMMEL WYE (HAMMEL JUNCTION?) (IN-

   SIDE EAST END OF WYE. REPLACED

   TOWER #102. JOHNSON 44 LEVER STYLE

   A   MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:

   8/2/1907. OUT OF SVC: 2/19/32.)

 

 

“HUNT 1” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       WEST OF HUNTINGTON (REMOTE FROM

                                                             “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 6/26/72.  FORMERLY

                                                             “BURKE.”  CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-

                                                             DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

“HUNT 2” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       WEST OF HUNTINGTON (REMOTE FROM

                                                             “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 6/26/72. CONTROLLED                                                                  FROM "JCC-DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF:

                                                             05/08/2021

 

“HUNT 3” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)       EAST OF HUNTINGTON (REMOTE FROM

                                                             “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 6/26/72.  FORMERLY

                                                            “COREY.” CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-

                                                             DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021

 

“HV”                                                  HOLTSVILLE (W.W.I) (BLOCK OFFICE

                                                             IN TICKET OFFICE IN SVC:  05/28/1918                                                            PER ETT #87.  FORM 19 TRAIN ORDER

                                                             IN MY ARCHIVE ISSUED THERE ON

                                                             10/31/1917. (NO IDEA OF REASON

                                                             FOR DISCREPANCY IN DATES).  BLOCK

                                                             OFFICE CLOSED IN DEPOT AND BLOCK

                                                             AND UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION

                                                             OUT OF SVC:  5/23/1928)

 

“HW” CABIN                                      HEMPSTEAD TURNPIKE: LISTED IN

                                                             1924 EDITION OF L.I.R.R. RULES AND

                                                             RATES OF PAY GOVERNING EMPLOYES

                                                             IN THE STATION, TOWER AND TELE-

                                                             GRAPH DEPARTMENTS.  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             1924.)

 

“HW” CABIN                                      WEST OF HAWTHORNE AVE., VALLEY

                                                             STREAM.  CONTROLLED TEMP. CON-                                                                          NECTION TO W. HEMPSTEAD BRANCH.

   (US&S 11 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACH-

   INE IN SVC:  8/10/32 ACCOUNT VALLEY

   STREAM GRADE CROSSING ELIMINA-

   TION. OUT OF SVC:  6/27/33.)

 

“HX”                                                  HOLLAND (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“HX” CABIN                                       HICKSVILLE (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST

                                                             OF JERUSALEM AVE. IN SVC: 1890.  OUT

                                                             OF SVC:  5/27/1909.)

 

“HX” TOWER                                     HICKSVILLE – JCT. OF PORT JEFFERSON

   BRANCH AND MAIN LINE. (BETWEEN

   LEGS OF WYE, EAST OF STATION) (48

   LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE.  IN

   SVC:  5/27/1909.  PERMISSIVE BLOCK

   ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNAL: 

   6/25/1928. RENAMED “HN”: 11/23/1928.

   RENAMED “DIVIDE” 4/39)

 

“HY”                                                   HYDE PARK (1903 CR4) (LATER: NEW HYDE

                                                             PARK) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)

 

“INWOOD”                                         INWOOD (TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION

                                                             IN SVC: 6/4/79 FOR SINGLE TRACKING

                                                             DURING TRACK REHABILITATION.  OUT

                                                             OF SVC:  10/2/79.  AGAIN IN SVC., AT

   “END OF BLOCK” SIGN EAST OF INWOOD

   STATION : 5/9/83 FOR SINGLE TRACKING

   DURING M.O.W. WORK.  OUT OF SVC:

   6/17/83.)

 

“IP”                                                    ISLIP (SOUTHERN DIVISION) (IN TICKET

                                                              OFFICE) (07/15/1878 BOOK OF RULES

                                                              AND 1903 CR4.) (UNATTENDED BLOCK

                                                              STATION SIGNAL IN SVC:  5/23/1928.

                                                              BLOCK STATION IN DEPOT OUT OF SVC:

                                                                ? .)

 

“IS” TOWER                                       HOLLIS (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND

   EAST OF HOLLIS STATION. JOHNSON 32

   LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  IN SVC:

   1905 AS TOWER # 43: 3 (?).  RENAMED

   “IS” IN 1907.  WHEN STATION WAS

   ELEVATED, IT WAS RELOCATED ADJA-

   CENT TO WEST SIDE OF TOWER.  “IS”

   RENAMED “HOLLIS” PER G.O. #603/625

   EFF: 4/23/37.)

 

“ISLAND PARK”                                 (TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION AT W. END

   OF ISLAND PARK STATION PLATFORM

   IN SVC:  8/15/83 FOR SINGLE TRACKING

   DURING M.O.W. WORK.  OUT OF SVC:

   8/24/83.  AGAIN IN SVC: 4/29/88.  OUT

   OF SVC:  5/2/88. BLOCK OPERATOR ON

   DUTY:  5/2/88 UNTIL 5/9/88.)

 

“ISLAND PARK”                                 (TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION AT END OF

   DOUBLE TRACK EAST OF ISLAND PARK

   STATION IN SVC:  5/9/88.  OUT OF SVC:

    ? )

 

“J1” CABIN                                        JAMAICA (SEE “A1” CABIN) (NORTH SIDE

                                                             OF TRACKS AND 250’ WEST OF PROS-

                                                             PECT ST. [159TH ST.]  TEMPORARY CAB-

   IN ACCOUNT “JAMAICA IMPROVEMENT

   EAST” PROJECT.  US&S 8 LEVER CIR-

   CUIT CONTROLLER MACHINE.  IN SVC:

   12/8/1929. OUT OF SVC: 6/21/1930 PER

   G.O. 112-5 AND NEW CABIN RELOCAT-

   ED ON ELEVATION: 6/21/1930 PER G.O.

   112-5C.  US&S 7 LEVER TC MACHINE

   IN SVC.  OUT OF SVC: 3/8/1931 PER G.O.

   113-22C)

 

“J2” CABIN                                        JAMAICA (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND

                                                             50’ WEST OF BRENTON AVE. [170TH ST.]

                                                             TEMPORARY CABIN ACCOUNT “JAMAICA

                                                             IMPROVEMENT EAST” PROJECT. JOB

                                                             ADVERTISED: 6/26/1929.  US&S 7 LEV-

                                                             ER CIRCUIT CONTROLLER MACHINE IN

                                                             SVC:  12/8/1929.  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             6/21/1930 PER G.O. 112-5.)

“J3” CABIN                                       JAMAICA (SEE “C3” CABIN) (SOUTH OF

                                                             MONTAUK BRANCH TRACKS AT 177TH

                                                                            STREET:  300’ WEST OF “RJ” INTER-

                                                             LOCKING STATION. TEMPORARY CABIN

                                                             ACCOUNT “JAMAICA IMPROVEMENT

                                                             EAST” PROJECT.  US&S 7 LEVER CIRC-

                                                             UIT CONTROLLER MACHINE IN SVC: 

                                                             12/8/1929. OUT OF SVC: 6/21/1930 PER

                                                             G.O. 112-5 AND RELOCATED ON ELEVA-

                                                             TION: 6/21/1930 PER G.O. 112-5C.  US&S

                                                             7 LEVER TC MACHINE IN SVC.  OUT OF

                                                             SVC: 3/8/1931 PER G.O. 113-22C.)      

 

“J4” CABIN                                        JAMAICA (JOB ADVERTISED 6/30/1930. 

   TEMPORARY CABIN ACCOUNT “JAMAICA

   IMPROVEMENT EAST” PROJECT.  SOUTH

   OF TRACKS AND EAST OF HILLSIDE STA-

   TION.  US&S 6 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE

   MACHINE IN SVC:  6/21/1930 PER G.O.

   112-5C.  OUT OF SVC:  2/26/1931 PER

   G.O. 113-20C.)

 

“J”                                                     JAMAICA (IN TICKET OFFICE) (ETT #11 EFF.

                                                              11/08/1874, 07/15/1878 BOOK OF

                                                              RULES AND 1903 CR4)     

 

“J” TOWER:  1                                   JAMAICA (WOODEN TOWER AT SOUTH

                                                             SIDE OF TRACKS AND WEST OF STA-

                                                             TION AT UNION HALL STREET LOCATION. 

                                                             IN SVC: 03/27/1905 [?].  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             1913 WITH GRADE ELIMINATION.)

 

“J” TOWER:  2                                   JAMAICA (BRICK TOWER NORTH SIDE OF

   TRACKS AND WEST OF NEW STATION

   LOCATION AT SUTPHIN BLVD., AFTER

   GRADE ELIMINATION.  ORIGINAL US&S

   107-LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEU-

   MATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  1913.  RE-

   NAMED “JAY” PER G.O. #624 EFF:

   4/16/37. 

 

“JA” CABIN                                        CORONA (TEMPORARY CABIN ACCOUNT

                                                             GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.  US&S

                                                             3 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN

   SVC:  5/8/1930.  OUT OF SVC: 

   10/17/1930.)

 

“JA” TOWER                                      VAN WYCK AVE., JAMAICA  (“JAMAICA

   BLOCK”) (ORIGINALLY TOWER #40: 1.  RE-

   NUMBERED TOWER #36: 1 IN 1903.  RE-

   NAMED “JA” IN 1907.  RENAMED “V” (VAN

   WYCK AVE.): 6/1911. OUT OF SVC: 1913

   WITH RELOCATION AND ELEVATION OF

   JAMAICA TERMINAL.)

 

“JAMAICA AIR TOWER”                    SEE: TOWER #15 AND “JT” TOWER.

 

“JAY” TOWER                                    JAMAICA (PREVIOUSLY “J” TOWER) (NORTH

                                                             SIDE OF TRACKS AND WEST OF STATION.

                                                             RENAMED: 4/16/37 AS PHONETIC SPEL-

                                                             LING OF “J” [JAY]. INTERLOCKING RE-

                                                             BUILT WITH US&S 123 LEVER, MODEL

   14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE, IN

   SVC:  2/21/43.  SIGNAL SYSTEM UP-

   GRADED:  10/23-24/2010. TOWER OUT

   OF SVC:  10/24/2010.  REMOTE CON-

   TROLLED FROM “JCC”.  BLDG. USED

   BY M of E AND M of W PERSONNEL)

 

"JAY" INTERLOCKING (R.C.)             CONTROLLED FROM JCC WHEN "JAY"

                                                             TOWER CLOSED ON 10/24/2010.

 

“JCC”                                                 JAMAICA CONTROL CENTER (“204”) (IN

                                                             SVC: 1980s. CONTROLLED INTERLOCK-

                                                             INGS ON PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH

                                                             AFTER “HAROLD” CLOSED ON 07/03/99 

                                                             per Jim Minor, LIRR block operator) IN

                                                             RECENT YEARS, ALSO CONTROLLED

                                                             THE FOLLOWING INTERLOCKINGS

                                                             WHEN THE TOWERS WERE TAKEN OUT

                                                             OF SERVICE:  "DUNTON," "HALL," "JAY,"

                                                             NASSAU" AND "QUEENS."

 

"JCC-DIVIDE"  (R.C.)                         CONTROLLED FROM JCC, PER G.N. #6-70

                                                             EFF. 05/08/2021

 

“JC” TOWER :1                                 WHITESTONE JUNCTION (1878 BOOK OF

                                                             RULES AND 1903 CR4) EAST OF CORONA. 

                                                             (CORONA JCT.?) JCT. OF PORT WASH-

                                                             INGTON AND WHITESTONE BRANCHES. 

                                                             NORTH SIDE OF WHITESTONE BRANCH

                                                             AND WEST OF THE  JUNCTION.  FORM-

                                                             ERLY TOWER #53.  RENAMED IN 1907. 

                                                             OUT OF SVC: 6/30/1914 AND REPLACED

                                                             BY 2ND "JC" TOWER EAST OF JCT.)

 

“JC” TOWER: 2                                 WHITESTONE JUNCTION - EAST OF COR-

                                                             ONA.  (CORONA JCT.?)   JUNCTION OF

   PORT WASHINGTON AND WHITESTONE

   BRANCHES. (OPENED 6/30/1914, NORTH

   SIDE OF PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH

   TRACKS, EAST OF THE JUNCTION AND

   WEST OF FLUSHING CREEK. GRS/S&F

   24 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE WITH

   US&S 5 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MA-

   CHINE TO OPERATE DRAWBRIDGE

   (SWING BRIDGE) OVER FLUSHING RIV-

   ER.  OUT OF SVC: 2/19/32 "ALONG WITH

   ALL SIGNALS OPERATED THEREFROM,"

   PER G.O. #115-18.  BRANCH ABAND-

   ONED. TOWER RAZED SHORTLY THERE-

   AFTER. BRIDGE TENDER'S CABIN IN-                STALLED AT EAST END OF BRIDGE TO

OPERATE SWING BRIDGE)

 

“JD” TOWER                                     GLENDALE JCT. - JCT. OF ROCKAWAY

   BEACH AND MONTAUK BRANCHES.

   (LOCATED ON MONTAUK BRANCH:

   S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF JCT.

   12 LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACH-

   INE IN SVC. 08/26/1880.  FORMERLY

   TOWER 10. OUT OF SERVICE: 1910)

 

“JJD-1” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)         FORMERLY “MS-1” – MASTIC-SHIRLEY.

                                                             (CONTROLLED FROM “BABYLON”. RE-

   NAMED IN HONOR OF FORMER LIRR

                                                             PRESIDENT JAMES J. DERMODY.  EFF-

                                                             ECTIVE: 5/18/ 2009.) 

 

“JJD-2” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)         FORMERLY “MS-2” – MASTIC-SHIRLEY.

                                                             (CONTROLLED FROM “BABYLON”.) RE-

                                                             RENAMED IN HONOR OF FORMER LIRR

                                                             PRESIDENT JAMES J. DERMODY.  EFF-

                                                             ECTIVE: 5/18/ 2009.) 

 

“JE” TOWER :1                                  JAMAICA (JAMAICA EAST: “EAST END OF

                                                              JAMAICA”) (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS

    AND EAST SIDE OF “OLD” JAMAICA

    STATION FORMERLY TOWER #41: 2.

    RENAMED: 1907. OUT OF SVC:

    3/8/1913.)

 

“JE” TOWER :2                                  JAMAICA (JAMAICA EAST: SOUTH SIDE OF

   TRACKS AND EAST OF NEW  ELEVATED

   STATION LOCATION AT SUTPHIN BLVD.

                                                             71 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-MECH-

   ANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 1913.  RE-

   PLACED BY 83 LEVER MODEL 14 ELEC-

   TRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC: 

   2/26/1931 AS A RESULT OF THE JAMAICA

   EAST IMPROVEMENT PROJECT THAT

   ELIMINATED ROCKAWAY JCT., WHICH

   HAD BEEN CONTROLLED BY “JE.”  RE-

   NAMED “HALL” PER G.O. #624 EFF:  

   4/16/37.) 

 

“JEFF” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)           WEST OF PORT JEFFERSON (CONTROLLED

                                                             FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 1992. CON-

                                                             TROLLED FROM "JCC-DIVIDE" PER

                                                             G.N. #6-70 EFF: 05/08/2021  

 

“JF”                                                   PORT JEFFERSON (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET

   OFFICE.  2-LEVER TABLE MACHINE. 

   UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL

   IN SVC: 5/23/1928. PERMISSIVE BLOCK

   ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS: 

   6/25/1928.  EASTWARD BLOCK SIGNAL

   OUT OF SVC. PER G.O. #1006C, EFF:

   3/29/39 AND BRANCH EXTENSION

   ABANDONED.  ONE SEMAPHORE ARM

   REMOVED.  BLOCK AND BLOCK LIMIT

   SIGNALS IN FRONT OF BLOCK STATION

   RELOCATED 173’ WEST OF FORMER

   LOCATION: 9/15/47.  BLOCK LIMIT

   STATION OUT OF SVC:  2/12/51. 

   RENAMED “PORT JEFFERSON”:  6/61. 

   BLOCK LIMIT STATION BACK IN TEMP-

   ORARY SERVICE: 4/18/88 WHEN

   “PORT JEFFERSON” BLOCK SIGNAL

   TEMPORARILY PLACED OUT OF SVC. 

   “JF” OUT OF SVC:   ? )

 

“JI” CABIN                                         JEKYL ISLAND (ISLAND PARK) ON LONG

                                                             BEACH BRANCH (LOCATED AT 1 END

                                                             OF PASSING SIDING. E. SIDE OF

                                                             TRACKS AND S. (RAILROAD EAST) OF

                                                             LONG BEACH ROAD. IN SERVICE:

                                                             6/3/1922.  12 LEVER  US&S/S&F 

                                                             MECHANICAL MACHINE (per Henry

                                                             Wilhelm map). OUT OF SVC. FOR THE

                                                             WINTER: 10/10/1922.  OUT OF SVC.

                                                             PERMANENTLY: 1/15/1927 WHEN

                                                             BRANCH WAS DOUBLE TRACKED TO

                                                             WRECK LEAD.)

 

“JM” CABIN                                       ST. JAMES (LISTED IN ETT OF 9/9/1915.

                                                             NOT LISTED IN ETT OF 6/28/1916.

                                                             BLOCK OFC. MOVED INTO DEPOT.)

 

“JN”                                                   STEWART JUNCTION (07/15/1878 BK

                                                             OF RULES) (LATER: FLORAL PARK AND

                                                             JCT. OF CENTRAL EXTENSION AND

                                                             CREEDMOOR BRANCH WITH MAIN LINE

                                                             PER 1903 CR4. STATION CALLS SHARED

                                                              WITH TOWER 43: 1 [LATER TOWER 47]

                                                              BUILT INTO DEPOT ROOF ABOVE.)

 

“JO”                                                   KINGS PARK (ST. JOHNSLAND) (1903 CR4)

   (IN TICKET OFFICE. MANUAL BLOCK

   SIGNALS IN SVC: 9/8/1915 PER ETT

   #79 (Art Huneke data).  UNATTENDED

   BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN SVC: 5/1928.

   PERMISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO

   BLOCK SIGNALS: 6/25/1928.  BLOCK

   OFFICE CLOSED IN DEPOT: 06/01/1932.

   SEMAPHORE BLADES REMOVED FROM

   MAST  BY AUGUST/1934.  NEW DEPOT

   IN SVC: 1948.  BLOCK LIMIT STATION

   OUT OF SVC: 6/12/49.)     

 

TOWER “JO”  (PRR)                          UNDER 7TH AVE. & W. 32ND ST., EAST OF

                                                             PENN STATION, NY.  IN SVC:  _?_.  OUT

                                                             OF SVC: 9/30/94 AND CONTROL

                                                             TRANSFERRED TO "PSCC.")

 

“JO” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)              0.1 MILE EAST OF PENN STATION (CON-                                                              TROLLED FROM PSCC. IN SVC: 9/30/94)

 

“JS” TOWER                                      “OLD” JAMAICA (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS,

   AT WEST END OF PLATFORMS.  FORM-

   ERLY TOWER #40: 2.  RENAMED: 1907.

   PHOTOGRAPHED WITH CALLS AS OF

   12/19/1908.  REVERTED TO GATE TOW-

   ER SHORTLY THEREAFTER AND CALLS

   REMOVED IN PHOTO TAKEN

   12/29/1908.)

 

“JS” INTERLOCKING (R.C.)               WEST OF DEER PARK AT START OF DOU-

                                                              BLE TRACK EASTBOUND (CONTROLLED

                                                               FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 9/14/87.

                                                              NAMED AFTER JIMMY SULLIVAN, LIRR

                                                              SR. VICE PRESIDENT-ADMINISTRATION.

                                                              ALSO REFERRED TO AS “DEER” INTER-

                                                              LOCKING ON LIRR INTERLOCKING DIA-

                                                              GRAM DATED 3/1/88.  REMOVED, RE-

                                                              CONFIGURED AND RELOCATED 1,841'

                                                              WEST OF WEST END OF DEER PARK

                                                              STATION 08/06/2018 WITH DOUBLE

                                                              TRACKING TO RONKONKOMA PER

                                                              GN #4-17. IN SERVICE:  09/04/18 PER

                                                              GN #4-21. CONTROLLED FROM "JCC-

                                                              DIVIDE" PER G.N. #6-70 EFF:

                                                               05/08/2021

 

“JT” TOWER                                      JAMAICA AIR TOWER” ON ATLANTIC BR.

                                                              AT EAST END OF JAMAICA YARD (S.

                                                               SIDE OF TRACKS, W. OF OLD DEPOT

                                                              LOCATION AND W. OF ROCKAWAY RD.

                                                              FORMERLY TOWER 15. RENAMED IN

                                                              1907.  1ST COMPLETELY PNEUMATIC

                                                              48 LEVER INTERLOCKING ON THE

                                                              LIRR) OUT OF SVC:  1913 WITH GRADE

                                                              ELIMINATION AND YARD TRACK RELO-                                                                  CATION.)

 

“K”                                                     MATTITUCK (IN TICKET OFFICE) (ETT #11

                                                             EFF. 11/08/1874, 07/15/1878 BOOK

                                                             OF RULES AND 1903 CR4). BLOCK OFF-

                                                             ICE IN SVC: 5/28/1918 PER ETT #87. 

                                                             2-LEVER GRS WALL TYPE MECHANICAL

                                                             MACHINE IN SVC:   ? .  UNATTENDED

                                                             BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN SVC: 

                                                             5/23/1928.  PERMISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT

                                                             ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS:  6/25/1928. 

                                                             BLOCK OFFICE IN STATION OUT OF SER-

                                                             VICE: 9/2/58.  BLOCK LIMIT STATION

                                                             SIGNALS IN SVC: 9/2/58) 

 

“KEW”                                                KEW GARDENS (TEMPORARY BLOCK STA-

                                                             TION IN SVC: 4/23/55.  OUT OF SVC:

                                                             4/23/55.  AGAIN IN SVC: 9/21/63 FOR

                                                             BRIDGE REPLACEMENT (Dick Makse

                                                             data).  OUT OF SVC: 9/21/63

 

“KF” TOWER                                     KINGS HIGHWAY, BKLYN. - ON MANHATTAN

                                                             BEACH BRANCH (FORMERLY WOODEN

   TOWER #77.  OUT OF SERVICE: 1924

   WITH ABANDONMENT OF BRANCH)

 

“KH”                                                  SHINNECOCK HILLS (SUMMER ONLY PER

   1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE. BLOCK

   OFFICE CLOSED IN DEPOT AND UNAT-

   TENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNALS IN

   SERVICE: 1927.  OUT OF SVC:  9/21/32.)

 

“KI”                                                    MERRICK (1903 CR4) (IN TICKET OFFICE.)